We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar

Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar
460A New North Road, Kingsland, Auckland, New Zealand
09 815-0610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,294 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our team of trained Japanese chefs welcome you. Irrashaimase. We are located next to Kingsland Station, on the Western Line, just 4 stops from the Britomart Downtown Station. We are also one minute from the New North Road, "Kingsland" bus stop.You may view our illustrated menu on our website.Most of us have travelled extensively around the world, and enjoy greeting and entertaining new friends from many different countries.When you are in Auckland, come and see us. We are waiting.You'll be glad you found us on Tripadvisor!
Belfast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Japanese ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Saw the reviews. Drove from the airport just to try it... Absolutely blew us away! Ian is a wonderful host. Food is amazing (octopus balls live up to their reputation). Craggy range wine is phenomenal. Altogether truly exceptional dinner out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    19
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good Karma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Taiko has the hardest working man outside Japan. A front of house powerhouse and a bloke who knows sake. I dine here all the time and I do so because it’s consistently excellent and the whole experience is authentic. Try some of the diablo sake but don’t plan on driving, swimming or engaging in a constructive conversation afterwards. Murdock and GOOD Karma.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb authentic food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Service was impeccable. We had a relatively new waitress who served us above and beyond the norm, advising us perfectly throughout our meal.
Food was fresh, tasty and truly authentic.
Value was 100% worth it for overall experience.
Atmosphere was just right, from a beautifully thought out Japanese vibe throughout, to a kind, considerate owner who made you feel welcome and not forgotten amongst a packed out restaurant. Would definitely visit again and again and recommend to everyone who is keen on Japanese cuisine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Came for dinner with my wife on a Friday evening. Was our 2nd time here as we had a great meal the first time round (was a year or so ago though). Was not as impressed as the 1st time.

Service - Great service. Really attentive and speedy dishes. The owner was around and serving as well.

Food - A little disappointed here. The beef tataki was a bit on the over-cooked side as was chewy and a little thicker cut. The tobiko caviar roll was nice but the raw fish was on the warm side (which is a bit disappointing). The lotus root entree and kakuni (pork belly in miso soup) was nice as entree. Pork cutlet (tonkatsu) was nice. Overall, okay except for beef tataki and temperature of raw fish.

Value - Okay price but the portions are on the small side, which is expected as it is more of a tapas style restaurant.

Atmosphere - Quite authentic and feels like you are in a Japanese restaurant off the main streets of Japan.

Overall - A good place but not one of our favourites.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love our "local"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a great little restaurant, tucked away in Kingsland. The atmosphere is great, service is always with a smile and they have great chefs.

We love all the fresh food - especially the sashimi, and they look after kids really well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.