We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb authentic food and atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar

Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar
460A New North Road, Kingsland, Auckland, New Zealand
09 815-0610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our team of trained Japanese chefs welcome you. Irrashaimase. We are located next to Kingsland Station, on the Western Line, just 4 stops from the Britomart Downtown Station. We are also one minute from the New North Road, "Kingsland" bus stop.You may view our illustrated menu on our website.Most of us have travelled extensively around the world, and enjoy greeting and entertaining new friends from many different countries.When you are in Auckland, come and see us. We are waiting.You'll be glad you found us on Tripadvisor!
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb authentic food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Service was impeccable. We had a relatively new waitress who served us above and beyond the norm, advising us perfectly throughout our meal.
Food was fresh, tasty and truly authentic.
Value was 100% worth it for overall experience.
Atmosphere was just right, from a beautifully thought out Japanese vibe throughout, to a kind, considerate owner who made you feel welcome and not forgotten amongst a packed out restaurant. Would definitely visit again and again and recommend to everyone who is keen on Japanese cuisine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    19
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Came for dinner with my wife on a Friday evening. Was our 2nd time here as we had a great meal the first time round (was a year or so ago though). Was not as impressed as the 1st time.

Service - Great service. Really attentive and speedy dishes. The owner was around and serving as well.

Food - A little disappointed here. The beef tataki was a bit on the over-cooked side as was chewy and a little thicker cut. The tobiko caviar roll was nice but the raw fish was on the warm side (which is a bit disappointing). The lotus root entree and kakuni (pork belly in miso soup) was nice as entree. Pork cutlet (tonkatsu) was nice. Overall, okay except for beef tataki and temperature of raw fish.

Value - Okay price but the portions are on the small side, which is expected as it is more of a tapas style restaurant.

Atmosphere - Quite authentic and feels like you are in a Japanese restaurant off the main streets of Japan.

Overall - A good place but not one of our favourites.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love our "local"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a great little restaurant, tucked away in Kingsland. The atmosphere is great, service is always with a smile and they have great chefs.

We love all the fresh food - especially the sashimi, and they look after kids really well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Germany
2 reviews
“Great Sushi!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We came without a reservation on Friday evening and were lucky to get a seat. The staff was very friendly and we had really great Sushi!!! The owner was there hinself and also brought the food! Definetely recommendet!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

It was a thursday evening we were taking an auntie out for dinner and I decided that we have Japanese. We went to Sake bar 601 but was fully booked(20covers only) So next choice for Japanese was Taiko. As we entered into Taiko, I thought the ambient was at bit tired.. the main waitress seated us but we were left unattended for a good 15 mins without menus nor water on the table only when we asked then she attended to it. Our waitress was a young blonde asian/cocasian looking and very slow on serving. We ordered a medium sashimi mix which was very disappointing.. The fish slices were thicker then both your lips and they didnt look or tasted appealing or fresh at all! The maki or sushi we ordered had the rice thicker then the filling which looked like cheap sushi or home made wouldve been better off.. After our meal we weren't offered anything extra..we were left unattended again for another long period of time until we asked for desserts..Dessert was the only pleasing ok thing we had.. No coffees nothing offered after..never returning again, overall very poor quality of food for price and very Poor service for prices charged. Need more work on ambient and very uncomfortable seats..wouldn't reccommend it to any Japanese food lover.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.