We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar

Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar
460A New North Road, Kingsland, Auckland, New Zealand
09 815-0610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our team of trained Japanese chefs welcome you. Irrashaimase. We are located next to Kingsland Station, on the Western Line, just 4 stops from the Britomart Downtown Station. We are also one minute from the New North Road, "Kingsland" bus stop.You may view our illustrated menu on our website.Most of us have travelled extensively around the world, and enjoy greeting and entertaining new friends from many different countries.When you are in Auckland, come and see us. We are waiting.You'll be glad you found us on Tripadvisor!
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Japanese restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautifully presented and delicious Japanese food and sake. Imported Japanese beer on tap which is damn good too! And helpful, friendly staff and owner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    19
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ian Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great food, great service, great prices and Ian the owner/manager/boss-dude is GREAT!! Definitely work a trip when you're in Kingsland. Conveniently positioned next to the train station

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and welcoming service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to Taiko for over 4 years now and the owner Ian has consistently impressed with great food and excellent service. Last Saturday was no exception. The menu is tight but has all the favourites. I like to sit at the bar and engage with the staff over some Sake or when im there with a larger group the table seating is fine. Kingsland is painful for parking so either taxi or park over on Sandringham rd and walk over the railway station over foot bridge right to Taikos door step. This is definitely one of the best Japanese restaurants in Auckland and certainly one of the top 5 in NZ in my opinion.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Japanese place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very good Japanese food in Auckland.great service,very polite staf.nice sushi as well as mains. Not too expensive.great selection of dishes which are prepared on the same day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great food and genuine service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've eaten at Taiko a couple of times now, and have always been impressed. It is tucked down off the main street (as are many of the best restaurants, around the world!) It is a fairly humble-looking place - a 'local' Japanese restaurant - but this in no way detracts from the dining experience. The Tsumami (little plates of food) offered are a great way to eat - allowing us to try a number of dishes, but avoiding feeling overly full on departure. I recommend trying the specials - always taking advantage of the freshest and best ingredients. The owner is knowledgeable and passionate about Japanese cuisine, and in assisting us to select a bottle of Sake, also educated us about Japanese culture. We'll keep coming back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.