We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tour we took in NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast to Coast Tours

Coast to Coast Tours
76 Muriwai Valley Road, Auckland 0881, New Zealand
+64 9-411 7080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Food & Drink in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rainforest, craftmarket, wine & honey, lunch, Muriwai beach, gannet colony + our private sheep farm all in a day it's the perfect Shore Excursion just 40mins from Downtown! Senior friendly & Private groups catered. This Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award winning company is your answer to optimising your time, because you'll do so many unique things on the one tour. "All-inclusive" and hosted by NZ-born & Maori operators with now 12y experience, you tour the west Auckland & Muriwai region where our family has lived and farmed since 1922....you also visit our historic Homestead for our "famous" Epicurean Tasting Platter, (-WE are Food Handling Certified). Our farm has their own carbon sink-tank reserves, & with us operating locally, your tour is responsibly Sustainable and carbon-efficient too. -Mini tours also available.
Anthem
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best tour we took in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent the day with Stu and he was very informative about Auckland and surrounding areas. We made several stops sightseeing, including a winery, and the beach.
He took us to a wonderful restaurant for lunch and we got to chat with him about the farm. He then drove us out to his farm to meet Donna his wife, their two daughters and the rest of the farm family. We spent time touring the farm with Donna and Stu and a dog or two. Even got to feed the sheep and Maggie. We were welcomed into their lovely home and Donna made us a beautiful afternoon tea. It was delicious! We felt like part of their family by the time we had to say good bye.
I like to keep in touch through FB to see what they are up to.

I would differently recommend this tour.

One a side note Donna took our reservation and contacted us about hotel pick up. Stu arrived right on time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muriwaidonna, Owner at Coast to Coast Tours, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello there!
Many thanks for your kind comments.
We enjoyed hosting you and the group on your full day tour. It was great you could also meet our daughter’s too. Usually they have just returned home from their city occupations and can manage to poke their heads in to say “Hi” on their way past to run the dogs and check over the farm.
We think it’s lovely that you have chosen to keep in-touch with us via our Facebook page. As you, and many people have noticed, whereas other tour operators show pictures and articles about Public happenings, our page is our *own* news, and especially at this time of the year…our delightful baby lambs which everyone is so enjoying watching. There’s always something going on here!
We have free Wi-Fi available for our guests at our Homestead too, so everyone can catch-up with their friends and relatives.
Take care, and thanks again.
Regards,
Donna & Stu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Fine Way to Experience NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

At the end of our cruise we were able to spend several days in Auckland. We surely lucked out when finding Coast to Coast Tours. Stuart was able to comfortably sit 10 of us on a day long tour only developed by a local. He not only shared the beautiful and exotic sites, he shared some insights. One of the best parts was going to his home and meeting Donna. She shared some of the highlights of a sheep farm, landscape and wonderful tea and the Pavlova. I made them for my Chicago book club. It turned out to be the best tour in 3 weeks of travel. JB*

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muriwaidonna, Owner at Coast to Coast Tours, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello JB,
Many thanks for writing in to TA and also for letting us know that you had great success with your Pavlova making. See… “easy-peasy” eh !? (and totally different to the store-bought ones which most people opt for these days).
Yes, we too had an excellent time with your group, and with you all coming to our home made for extended whanau (family).
Thank you for entrusting us to show you Auckland’s coast and countryside attractions.
Like you, others also say that as a local operator we are able to show you things in a different and special way.
Best regards, and safe travels for the future,
Donna & Stu.
PS…my Pavlova recipe is available from our website!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour! Mahalo Stu and Donna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

***TAKE THIS TOUR!!!*** If you have 4+ hours to tour Auckland (outside of the city), TAKE THIS TOUR!!!
My wife and I saw this on tripadvisor and this seemed to give us exactly what we were looking for; a tour where we don't have to drive, sight-seeing, wine, food, hanging with locals, and we even got to pet some sheep! Stu and Donna really made these Hawaiians feel welcomed in New Zealand! Very down to earth and VERY comfortable to be around! They are definitely beautiful individuals who are happy to do what they do!
Here's our experience (2 people): you call them and make an appointment (we called the day before because we had no idea what to do), Stu comes and picks us up from our hotel in a comfortable and SHIEK ride, and WE WERE OFF!! Because it was just the two of us, the tour was completely catered to what WE wanted to do! FANTASTIC FANTASTIC FANTASTIC!!!
BEST VALUE IN AUCKLAND!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muriwaidonna, Owner at Coast to Coast Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha Walter!
Thanks for the Mahalo and also for uploading your great pictures!
We’re so pleased you both enjoyed your time visiting our region and coming to our farm & home. Hawaiian culture has so many similarities with New Zealand, as we experienced when we vacationed there last year. It’s also not that far via plane, and there are many more flights to Auckland now, so we are seeing a lot more visitors from Hawaii lately.
Yes, we do enjoy what we do…but this is because people seem to enjoy what we have, as you have outlined in your nice comments.
Please find your tree at these co-ordinates; S36 48.744 E174 27.897
All the very best,
Donna & Stu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eco friendly experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Donna and Stu are offering tours that allow you to talk with locals, discover beautiful landscapes and share a bit of their life in the farm. Don't miss their tours, otherwise you will not have the opportunity to eat the New Zealand products such as their famous homemade Pavlova !
Great alternative to shopping and city.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muriwaidonna, Owner at Coast to Coast Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Bonjour!
Many thanks for writing into TA.
It was nice having you visit our region, and as we had our honeymoon (and have visited Noumea several times), we enjoyed catching up with your region too!
You will be pleased to know we really enjoyed Wimille Wimereux when we visited France last month…such a lovely little sea-side township…(didn’t we wonder what it was going to be like!?). Thanks also for exchanging our old CFP into the new currency…it was like the World Bank at one stage!
We are pleased your Mother enjoyed our tour too.
Your tree can be found at; S36 48.754 E174 27.907
Best regards,
Donna & Stu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Donna and Stuart do a marvelous job of mixing culture, scenery, and personal attention in a small family environment.
With only 6 of us on the tour, there were several stops, at a Cultural center, beehive, lunch, wine tasting, and west coast beach, but the high point was when we stopped at their home, a working sheep farm.
The personal attention given to us made the tour especially rewarding, with Donna's invitation into her home being warm and soothing. The little extra's they provide and the sharing of their personal stories made the whole experience extra special.
I can't say that I've been on a better tour anywhere, as it was so personal and relaxing

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muriwaidonna, Owner at Coast to Coast Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello Rod,
Thank you for giving us such great feedback.
As you can read, we’ve been away on our vacation.
Yes, we do aim to keep our tour as personal as possible, so it’s nice to know you felt it so, and liked seeing our farm and home as it’s special for us to share this with our guests.
We trust you continue to enjoy your travels, and we wish you all the best.
Your tree can be found in our farm’s reserves at: S36° 48.747' E174° 27.932'
Regards,
Donna & Stu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast to Coast Tours also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Coast to Coast Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast to Coast Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.