We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable motel in nice area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parnell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parnell Inn
Save
You added Parnell Inn to your Saves list
320 Parnell Road, Auckland 1052 , New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Affordable motel in nice area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked the standard studio room at this motel and we found it quite small. There is a fridge, kettle and toaster but not a lot of room to make use of them. We did look at an Executive Room as well and this seemed to be a much better size.

The motel also has free parking which is very helpful.

The motel is conveniently located for restaurants, bars and shops in Parnell with one of our favourite restaurants, The Java Rooms, immediately opposite.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    51
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
43
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

As with any other inner-city hostelry, parking is the biggest challenge here. The small (6 spaces) car park is reached by a very steep, long driveway, it's not possible to see if there are any spaces free until you get down there, and then if it's full, you have to back up or attempt a 32-point turn in a very tight, awkward corner. All it takes is one selfish person to park their large car at an angle or not tight up to the wall, to make the carpark unusable.

Having said that, we found the rest of the Inn very acceptable. Our room was small and overlooked a wall, but the bed was a decent king-size and the bathroom although compact worked as expected. It was a little disappointing, having booked over eight months in advance, to find there were larger rooms with nice views of the harbour, unlike ours. However, it was sufficient. There's no aircon, but standard electric fans are adequate.

Location is excellent - up the top of Parnell Road, near the Cathedral and right opposite the best of the Parnell shops and conservation area.

Internet access is odd. We were given a free 24-hour voucher for TIVO, but having once logged on, the 24 hour period could not be paused or stopped. Further access became very expensive - $20 for 24 hours. We mentioned this to the manager, who seemed surprised and said he'd look into it. He offered us a free breakfast, or a free night on a return trip, which was very kind of him.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Harbour/downhill. Be prepared to park a short walk from the Inn, or to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Motel in nice location in the Parnell suburb of Auckland, with lots of places to eat nearby. The motel has a nice coffee shop/light meal place attached. Rooms fine though beggining to need refurbishment. Not high end but OK value for money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The room was small but clean, tidy and most importantly quiet. This hotel is dated but has a nice cafe attached and is in a very good location, close to all the very good Parnell restaurants. The service was very pleasant and we ended up staying 4 nights. It is very refreshing to find good value for money in Auckland in a good location. Has reasonably secure free parking. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Get one of the units in the north side - they are bigger and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The room was small and quite basic - this was certainly the cheapest/most basic accommodation we had during our NZ road trip. However, it was clean and everything worked - the shower was plenty hot enough if not the most powerful. There is also an adjoining cafe that does food and drinks from early till late
There is also free parking and the reception was friendly and helpful - even letting us use their internet to check in for our flight.
We had stayed in Auckland on Viaduct Harbour at the start of our trip and wanted to try a suburb at the end. Parnell is great - loads of bars and eateries and a really buzzing atmosphere even on the Wednesday night we were there. It is a bit of a walk to Viaduct Harbour and the Sky Tower from here so probably not ideal for a first time visit, but if you want a more "villagey" feel with great shopping, drinking and eats then Parnell is great.
The other accommodation on the main street looked similar to this motel - we didn't see any luxury boutique properties - and you can't really argue for £66 a night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Parnell is kind of Auckland's Chelsea and the Parnell Inn is right at the heart of it. Down town is a good 20 minutes walk, maybe 30. As other reviewers have said, the rooms are simple but clean and adequate and our bed was comfortable. The owners are very nice & helpful. The adjoining cafe (different ownership) is great. We paid 125 NZD for one night which, given its location, we thought to be great value. There are some excellent restaurants in Parnell.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Parnell Inn is in a fantastic location just of Parnell High Street. We stayed there on our first night after the long haul flight from the UK. Our room was simple but clean. As it was at the back of the hotel in the basement it was a little dark but on the upside, it meant there was very little traffic noise. The owners were very friendly and helpful and gave us a drinks vouchers for the cafe next door. Brilliant value considering the location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parnell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parnell Inn

Address: 320 Parnell Road, Auckland 1052 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Parnell Hotel Parnell
Parnell Hotel Auckland
Parnell Motel Auckland
Parnell Inn Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parnell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.