We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zarbo Cafe & Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zarbo Cafe & Deli
24 Morrow St, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
(09) 520 2721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #533 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have been going to Zarbo for years and I have to say I was very underwhelmed by my recent experience. I ordered breakfast which including coffee came to about $18.50. I was one of 2 people in the café and was starting to wonder if they had forgotten my order when after receiving my coffee it took about 15-20 minutes for the breakfast to come. When it did I received 2 very small poached eggs on one thick piece of toast. The crusts were too hard to cut with my knife - and in fact one of them went flying off the plate when I tried to cut it and the very attractive swirl of butter was so hard and cold it was impossible to use it to butter the toast. I was disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    21
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had the best breakfast ever this morning at Zarbo.
Absolutely delicious. We will be going back with friends very soon.
Well done Zarbo AAA

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“woeful service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Although not busy at 1.25pm on this Saturday, Zarbo reached a new low in Kiwi schoolgirl service.

My wife's omelette was conveyed out of the kitchen by a very young girl. We watched her (not suspecting for a moment that the meal was ours!) and she drifted here and she drifted there, she had a yarn with another waitress, she drifted back to the central counter, she showed no sign of urgency or awareness that the meal would be getting colder and colder. She grinned a lot. She dallied. She circumnavigated the café again.

After 10 minutes (timed) she eventually realized that our table had the required number. It was always in plain view.

Result= one cold omelette, great surprise at the complaint.

As for my meal? They forgot to cook it at all. Got a grudging refund.

What a disaster. Why do cafes hire children as wait staff?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTORUA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a stand out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Disappointed in brunch at Zarbo, Have borrowed the recipe books of a colleague and was quite excited when my brother in law had found Zarbo as a choice of cafe for brunch after a morning browsing the shops in Newmarket. It was very busy and quite a queue for service. My daughter had ordered crepes with bacon and banana and myself the bagel with basil, avocado etc. It took quite a long time for the meals to be served. So long that the other family members we were with that had selected cabinet lunches were finished by the time we received our meals. The crepe was a single crepe ( I dont know what had been done with it but it was very crispy/dry around the outer edge) with a small banana and the usual amount of bacon. So overpriced. The bagel was uninteresting. Would not return in a hurry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of the best delicatesan cafes i Auckland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Zarbo has been around for more than 10 years large space with excellent fresh salads. Good tea and coffee and plenty of seating. Weekdays you will struggle to get in after noon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zarbo Cafe & Deli also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Zarbo Cafe & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zarbo Cafe & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.