We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Cafe

Waterfront Cafe
14 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
(09) 359 9914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #414 of 1,419 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night Food, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great cocktails, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Perfect for a couple of Friday night cocktails by the harbour. Very friendly barman offered to make up a cocktail that was not on the menu! Music was modern and loud, but not overwhelming. Booths felt private and cosy. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    70
    29
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Loved our breakfast in Waterfront Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went first thing in the morning, they were only just opening the cafe and we were the fist customers there. Our waitress was very nice, no complaints whatsoever. I had pancakes and my partner had full english breakfast, both huge portions and both delicious! I would say one of the best breakfasts I've had in a restaurant. I personally really liked the way it is decorated inside. Nice place to relax and enjoy beautiful views of the harbour, especially in the morning when there was not many people around and the sun has just risen few hours before, Also great location with regards to going for a little walk after your meal etc... For me: excellent experience.
Useful websites:

Menu: http://www.showcasehospitality.co.nz/uploads/menus/file/waterfront-cafe-bar.pdf

http://www.showcasehospitality.co.nz/microsite/waterfront-cafe-bar/intro

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great location, very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We dined here having wandered round the viaduct, having talked to locals subsequently I think we could have found somewhere much better.

The service was OK, as was the food - both were nothing special. The atmosphere inside is more bar with food than restaurant.

We opted for the Kiwi Burger, which was large! We also ordered a veggie burrito and a chicken burrito - both were average not outstanding in any way.

Would we return, probably not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped for dinner at the Waterfront on our first night in Auckland. We helped ourselves to an outdoor table which allowed a nice view. The menu listed some good looking options, but unfortunately we had to wait 20 minutes to have our orders taken. Clearly there was either insufficient or incapable wait staff, due to the lengthy wait for our order, and the fact that our drinks also simply never arrived!
The meals were ok, not the best chicken parmi I've ever had. I'm sure things might have been different if we picked another night to dine at the Waterfront, we just felt a bit disappointed with the service during our visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great site - pity about the food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We hosted visitors to Auckland & chose this cafe for lunch after a wander around the Viaduct & Wyndham Quarter.
We choose a table indoors as it was a tad windy out, but didn't expect to be inundated by classes of noisy schoolchildren walking through the cafe on their way to the Maritime museum.
The wine we chose was not available; the salad, advertised as cos lettuce, was produced with some limp iceburg instead, & our four meals were delivered over a 10 minute period.
Not good enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Waterfront Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.