We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tusk Thai Restaurant & Bar

Tusk Thai Restaurant & Bar
590 Dominion Road, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
09-638-9516
Improve this listing
Ranked #613 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We finally managed to redeem our voucher we bought from Groupon a while ago!! We have dined previously using coupons at other restaurants where the service provided was not the same as if you were paying the full price. I sort of expected that this may be the case at Tusk but was very pleasantly surprised with the full service and the very tasty meal provided. The food was typically Thai - full of taste, falvour and "fire". By fire I mean the spiciness which was just right in our chicken stir fry and also the flaming chicken which was moist and cooked perfectly. Although the flaming chicken (roast chicken) was not spicy nor flavoured, the blandness if I may call it, was rather enjoyable and a good change from my usual spicy intake. It had a very subtle sweet tatse which must have come from the brandy.
The atmosphere is very pleasant, staff are well trained, food is superb so we will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    17
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“out of this world for choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

you want to eat thai food out of thailand itself,you need to dine here it is ab fab and all thai people to so is the real deal,the flavours are heaven,it has a great atmosphere and also if you want a private celebration there is a party room,have had the banquet style eating and because the helpings are huge now just do individual orders,they also have takeaway,the prices are good for families etc to go for a meal

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangerei
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My wife and I dined here on a quiet Wednesday evening and were pleased with the restaurant. The staff are unassuming but we found them very helpful when we asked for guidance and would certainly eat there again. The atmosphere is pleasing, with hints that this could buzz when it is busier. Parking around the corner makes it accessible.
Although we did not have it, the flaming chicken looks fun.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great at Tusk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The food is just great and the service very good. We keep returning there.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Nice enough.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 via mobile

The food is very nice but the decor and service do the food an injustice.

Would return but will allow a little more time to eat than normal.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tusk Thai Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Tusk Thai Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tusk Thai Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.