We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a nice setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The V Grill

The V Grill
95-97 Custom Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
(09) 307-09957
Improve this listing
Ranked #441 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
St Albans
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The restaurant is located down by the Marina and we were warmly welcomed. Drinks came promptly with the menus. We were served quickly and with a smile, with a shared calamari starter to start - more than enough for two! This was followed by a beautifully cooked steaks, salads and fries.
We found the overall experience very pleasant indeed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    14
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Needs Help”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Dined as a group.

Service was very average, as was everything else.

One steak was ordered medium. Was cooked ok but was cold!

Another steak was ordered medium but was very rare in the middle.

After complaining one steak was knocked off the bill.

No atmosphere, much better options in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“it's just terrible, DON'T GO”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We bought a 4-course voucher for 2 on grabone, and went there today, it's just soooo bad. The value is 370, I have no idea how they calculate it.

So we ordered an oyster and scallop for first entree. Tbh, the scallop was alright but oyster is not fresh. The second starter is lamb and smoked salmon. The salmon was salty but the lamb was again, alright. For main, we ordered a chicken and steak. The chicken is dry and tasteless, my steak is overcooked and horribly bitter. I didn't even finish it because it's literally bitter!!

For the drink, I ordered a cocktail. The taste is just SO BAD, did not finish it again. Felt so lucky that a lady knock down our drinks so we don't need to leave it in guiltiness. When the nice lady offer to get us a replacement for the drink that she knock down we just go like " NOOOOOOOOO. WE ARE REALLY REALLY FULL NW, NO THANKS!!" and escape the restaurant.

Wil never go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We dined here on the Friday night before the Rugby Game between the All Blacks and South Africa. The food was very good and the service was good. The wine list was a bit on the expensive side. We had the steak which was cooked just the way we like it also had a dessert which we shared. When we ordered the dessert the waiter asked us if we wanted three spoons as there were three of us and he said that is what most people do. Would recommend this restaurant for either lunch or dinner.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a Seafood chowder each, then shared a big bowl of mussels. The chowder was fantastic, mussels also pretty good.

Along with a couple of Icy cold beers & a great chat with our waiter, it was a really enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The V Grill also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The V Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The V Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.