We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre all over” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Playhouse Pub & Brasserie

The Playhouse Pub & Brasserie
Queen St, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
(09) 979 2470
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,002 of 1,281 Restaurants in Auckland
Restaurant details
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre all over”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Besides the appalling prices for food ( fries alone were $9.00 for a small fingerbowl full) without complaint we mustered a browse through the menus again for something to catch our eye.
Ending up with the nachos & the buffalo wings we were surprised too see another small finger bowl brought to us with out wings in them (5 ove them to be exact & at 17.50 it was abit ove a unpleasant surprise).
Besides the view ove Aotea square in the sun shining afternoon there rely wasnt much for us too enjoy besides each others company.
Not a good place to recommend though thier beer selection wasnt bad.
Even the hubby whos usually as laid back as myself looked abit startled when the small portions ove food were brought too us.
Not impressed rely & havent been back since.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistently good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We often come here when we're in Auckland. Food like "bangers and mash" and" steak pie with mashed potatoes and peas" . Good range of wines and beers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor, food was terrible as was the service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was the worst pub I have been to. The staff were hard to identify as they didn't wear any sort of uniform or aprons. We were suprised when we were served by a girl wearing a summer dress and thongs, thought it was a patron.
The food was not good. I couldnt eat my chicken pie it was like a thick broth with a very strange kind of pastry. My sisters salad had brown leaves, she took it back and was told there was nothing wrong with it. It looked like a packet salad from the supermarket that was a few days old, certainly not fresh.
The pub needs a clean and staff need a scrub up. We left without eating anything.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Visit In Two Halves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were attending a show, and decided to meet here and have drink and some food. Then after the show for one for the road. We received completely different levels of services.

Pre Show - We all commented how quick and prompt the food arrived, it was hot and tasty. All six of us had different choices. I chose the mushroom burger without salad, the waiter even pointed out that this was the vegetarian option and contained no burger. Portions were well sized.

Post Show - After enjoying ourselves earlier, we thought we would return for one for the road. Things were just messy, it took two staff to sort out what a Southern Comfort & L&P was. Others in our group had to explain what a Rum & Coke in a tall glass was. The staff could not understand english, and other patrons were equally frustrated too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good meal, well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is not fine dining but a quick pub meal and for that it is good. We had chilli beef nachos and chicken satay and enjoyed our meals. Service was fine and food hot, tasty and good value for central Auckland, it also arrived quite quickly. I'd go here again no problem.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Playhouse Pub & Brasserie also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Playhouse Pub & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Playhouse Pub & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.