We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Wyndham St, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
(09) 368 4129
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Service flowed smoothly throughout the evening, very tentative without hovering in regards to water and drinks on the table. The meals were visually attractive, flavoursome and fresh, portions size were surprisingly large, dessert was light with the right combinations. The appetizers and sorbets between courses were a perfect compliment to the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts. It means a lot to have such positive feedback for something we all passionately believe in and love to do. We look forward to having you in again sometime soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    43
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Another lovely meal at The Grove. Attentive and discreet service (they wait for a pause before interrupting), a menu with a sound base and some quirks to keep it interesting, visually entertaining and delicious to boot. Do ask about sides - for those with bigger appetites these are def needed. The wait staff will be able to advise and do take their advice re matching wines, they know what they're doing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good service, excellent food. Would go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Finally went there after many years hearing / reading about it.
My wife and I were not disappointed. I called in the morning around 11 am after checking their website to see if they had a table for 2 for lunch, which they did. very good phone manners which i understood later came from the owner/manager.
The waitress was very good- attention to details, caring and jovial. the restaurant was not full but she was mainly on her own with the owner. Entrees and mains were very nice in taste, look and quantity. all a bit pricy for a lunch time, but worth it. Kitchen service was a bit on the slow side, but it's fine dining / lunching, so you expect it. Wines were very good with very good advice from the waitress. Will return, probably for diner next time as we also liked the ambiance, decor etc...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Divine....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great atmosphere, to die for food, fab service, centrally located - arguably the best restaurant in town? Treat yourself

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

WOW we dined here during the week - we had been at a prior function, so had not made a reservation.

We thought the service, food & ambience was very sophisticated.
The Grove is 'top of its game'.
The complimentary tasters prior to serving our main dishes were outstanding - WOW.

Yes we will return!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.