We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masterchef moment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Cafe

The French Cafe
210 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
09-377-1911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,309 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Masterchef moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I cannot recall ever going to a resteraunt that both my wife and I could not chose which dish out of 4 course was best. The plating was as enjoyable to see as the food was to eat. Service and attention from the staff from the momment we walked in until we left was everything one could want. We fully understand why they have been chosen "Resturant of the Year " as often as they have and we would have to agree.A truely memorable moment

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    68
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Te Puke, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Its all true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Everything we have ever read or heard about this Restaurant is true! It was a truly fabulous meal, excellent service and just nothing negative to say. I would return weekly if I could

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding fine dining - perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Dinner at the French Cafe is a special occasion. The food is outstanding. We enjoyed the degustation menu - a lovely range of perfectly constructed courses. First, the complimentary sourdough roll with two choices of butter - smoky and thyme - excellent. Can't remember gushing about bread and butter before! And things just kept getting better. Kingfish ceviche.. caramelised pork belly with langoustine ... And many more delicious things. Service was professional. Lovely surroundings: elegant, comfortable ...the Karl Maugham painting strikes the right note. The French Cafe is the 2013 supreme winner of the Metro Restaurant of the year, deservedly so, and the competition is stiff. I hope to be coming back. This is the best restaurant I have ever been to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Slipping - from a regular's point of view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Always our best restaurant for important celebrations for years. Our kids are now men and still love it with us. Depth of ambience seemed to be lacking this time, and we felt half hearted about the food on the night. Next time we want a faultless experience it will not be an automatic choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The fight was on from the very first plate. Who's was the best?
We went for second course, third course and dessert. For a lighter start, two of us had the Kingfish Ceviche. Beautifully delicate and balanced flavours. We thought this was the best. Our partners disagreed having chosen the Quail Ballottine. I must say the plate looked fantastic...food envy had begun.
For third course, we ordered 3 Snapper dishes and I had the Boneless Lamb. Silence at the table...always a good sign of great food. Outnumbered by the rave revues, we gave third course to the Snapper.
Dessert was a no brainier. Everything was good. If you are a chocolate fan and have left enough room, go for the Textured Chocolate. If you are wanting a little chocolate dessert, go for the Caramel Chocolate Pot (yum). The winner though was the Raspberry Ripple. Beautifully presented, and spectacular flavours. Top marks.
Service was attentive and helpful. The plates courtesy of the chef well received. This is a superb restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The French Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.