We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Falls Restaurant & Cafe

The Falls Restaurant & Cafe
Alderman Drive | Henderson WEST auckland, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
(09) 835-0070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #561 of 1,306 Restaurants in Auckland
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good family fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Enjoyed an evening with friends in this lovely old building in Henderson - very homely, and makes for a good family atmosphere. The staff were courteous and always at hand (mind you, it was a very quiet night). This is not fine dining, but good family fare - with atmosphere to match.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
auckland - new zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Perfect place for lunch or dinner, the food is excellent and service is nice and friendly and outdoor dining space is great

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic location. Gluten free friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Totally love this place. Amazing location, decor, service, furniture and history! A must visit if in Henderson. Fantastic food quality and gluten free aware with choices on the menu! The food including gluten free blinis were to die for! Yum yum

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food let down by staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm usually pretty easy going on places, but if you enter through the main enterance no one greats you and you are left standing wondering if it's ok to diobey they sign and just wonder in to the cafe area. so we did and were greated quite by surprise by the staff as if we were a bit inconvienient to be there. After we ordered our coffe took an age to come but was a descent cup and the food took almost 25 minutes when there were 3 other tables of 2 i thought it was a little slow. but great breakfast and really good portions, presented well. the only reason to return would be if i had all day to wait for service and my orders, because the food was great. but the staff need to realise customers pay their wages and so need treating with a smile.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not very friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my first time visit to The Falls. I met a friend for coffee and cake. We arrived to an empty place with the most unfriendly women behind the counter. She was in her late 30's early 40's and we would expect a little more people skills from that age group. She never smiled or welcoming and made us feel like a burden if anything. We were charged EXTRA... for a little bit of cream with our cakes which were fairly expensive anyways. It seems like she went to Kenya and back for the coffee that arrived 10 minutes later, still with sour and not very cute face. Over all, I would not recommend this place that is in not a very posh area of town but pretends to be in the middle of Remuera.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Falls Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Falls Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falls Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.