We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soto Japanese Garden Restaurant

Soto Japanese Garden Restaurant
13 St Marys Rd, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
09 360 0021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went for lunch, my friend ordered the Teriyaki Chicken Donburi and I had the lunch special (platter 2 selections - Teriyaki & Karaage), everything was just delicious and the portions filling, my friend couldn't finish the Donburi. The service is excellent, décor is very nice, we waited approx. 15mins for our meals, price is ok for the quality ($35 for meal and a glass of wine). Parking was fairly easy to find.

I would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“great Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

• In Ponsonby, a nice neighbourhood with many restaurants and bars. Nice modern and cozy decor.
• Friendly staff, they really do their best to accommodate you.
• Excellent food, in particular the beetroot Carpaccio was outstanding! Most dishes are meant to be shared (Izakaya style), which is quite OK and a nice experience!
• Very fair prices, very good value for money
• For me definitely one of the better Japanese restaurants in town!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Great, fresh, modern Japanese food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our hotel recommended this stylish yet unpretentious Japanese restaurant, situated in a very cute area of town. We were welcomed and seated in a very clean and artistically put together room. It was a bit loud but not overly so. We decided to graze and order everything to share, so we could each sample more items. We started with oysters with ponzu sauce, absolutely fresh and tasty, as was our next course, the small sashimi plate. We followed that with the Tempura prawn with chili mayo which was very well presented and delicious. The final course was the Duck Tosazu, a buck breast served atop cold soba noodles with white sesame sauce. This was the best thing we ate that night. If you go, do not miss this dish. Over all a great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best Japanese I have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Superb fresh tasting food, good presentation, service with a smile. Will definitely return. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“one of the best japanese restaurants (outside Japan) ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We are eating a lot in japanese Restaurants, especially back in Europe, we have a couple that we know are "just like in Japan" however Soto tonight was really extremly good in every aspect: Service, Quality of the dishes, atmosphere! Really worth a visit !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soto Japanese Garden Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Soto Japanese Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soto Japanese Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.