We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheinkin Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sheinkin Cafe
3 Lorne St, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
(09) 303 4301
Improve this listing
Ranked #346 of 1,305 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
CONCORD
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Interesting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had lunch here with my family and the food was very good. Definitely a bit of an interesting twist as the dishes can be a little different that expected. I had a chicken salad and it was more of a pate than anything else else. Regardless it was quite good. For younger kids, the food might be too different so keep that in mind.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good coffee and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am a bit negative about the quality of coffee in Auckland's Lorne and High Streets. It is almost as if the cafe business has been commoditised. Sheinkin is different and individual. Those who appreciate Israeli food will like it also. It seems to be only open for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best cafe in Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

As frequent cafe go'ers in Auckland Central, we now find ourselves visiting this place the most often. Food is consistantly the best, coffee is very good and the service is oustanding. Worth the visit any time of the day, any time if the week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place and, because the menu looked good we went in, ignoring some of the poor reviews on trip advisor.

I can not fault it in any way. I had the salmon salad, my husband had the eggs Benedict and our kids had, mushrooms on toast, a smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel, poached eggs on toast and fried eggs with mushrooms. We all devoured our meals which were truly delicious.

Fabulous too were the thickshakes, freshly squeezed juices and the coffee.

As for service, our waitress was utterly delightful. She answered a multitude of questions, was brilliant with the kids and helpful at every opportunity. My only regret is that I don't live in Auckland so can't frequent it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Visited 3+ times a week for two years....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

And have never had a bad experience. One of the best cafes in Auckland, without question. Bagels and coffee: highly recommended. Well priced.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheinkin Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Sheinkin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheinkin Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.