We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prego Restaurant

Prego Restaurant
226 Ponsonby Rd | Ponsonby, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
+64 9-376 3095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 1,284 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: outdoor dining, Take out available, Full menu all day and night.
Yeppoon, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel concierge and it was a stellar recommendation! The restaurant had a really friendly but busy vibe to it and the staff were on top of their game. Extensive drinks list and our meals were delicious and served quite promptly. Would love to go there on a chilly winter's night and be warmed up by the ambience and hearty food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    80
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great service, great food, great location - just great....! Can't book, but ok bar, and don't usually have to wait long anyway.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place has been around for over 20 years but it was my first visit. The food was delicious, service excellent. Delicate flavours, beautiful combinations. The panfried fish of the day was snapper and done to perfection and the prawn risotto was light and tasty. Many restaurants to choose from along this road, but I will definitely return to Prego. We walked in without a reservation late on a Wed evening and the place was buzzing with few empty tables.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home is where the hearty meals are”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I can't remember the first time I went to Prego, it was well over 15 years ago and at 34, its featured well on my life-scape ever since. The staff and food make it, as should any good restaurant. The people who work there always have personality plus. Its a non-generic and important way to serve people. Whether the cliental be celebs, tourists or people like me who keep coming back. A few things stay on the menu, so if you've been away for years overseas and just crave that calamari or fresh pizza bread with aioli or the latest great NZ wine from Central Otago - its there for you. I've travelled a lot, but always consider a great meal at Prego, with cherished friends and family, part of my homecoming. Love you guys, keep up the good work!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent family and business restaraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sunday night favorite for the family - excellent service, great food and they make you feel really welcome as a family. 5pm Sunday just stacks of kids and mums and dads. Go with confidence

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Prego Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prego Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.