We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food at high prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino

Portofino
156 Parnell Road, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
(09) 373 3740
Improve this listing
Ranked #641 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Berks , England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average food at high prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I guess at a waterfront location you expect to pay high prices, but the food at this restaurant is distinctly average and is not worth what is charged. Pasta was ok but not great, my wife's veal dish was ok but not great. You just expect more at these prices

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    7
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went here on a recent trip to Auckland with my kids. After walking along Parnell Road we stumbled upon Portofino. Staff were inviting and attentive seating us quickly and brings drinks. We ordered two pizzas and one pasta dish to share amongst the 3 of us. Food was hot and tasty and enjoyed by all. Facilities were nice and clean. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great service & food. My partner & I stopped in for dinner & the food was very fast. Nice location too

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had diner here after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, they were mixed but we wanted some pasta for a change, I wish we had not.
The decor is upmarket but we were met by the host in a pair of shorts which I thought quite odd, anyway we ordered and the food match the shorts not great for the price charged.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fabulous food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location is wonderful. The portions just right, food brilliant and the staff friendly and helpful. Give it a try

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.