We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe

The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe
6-8 Vulcan Lane, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
+64 9-300 6226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 1,305 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In 1999 The Occidental Hotel on Vulcan Lane, Auckland was transformed into The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe which is the first authentic Belgian Beer Cafe in the Southern Hemisphere. We proudly serve an extensive selection of the finest Belgian beer and some of the best wines from New Zealand and Australia, complimented by authentic Belgian cuisine.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming here for over ten years, whenever I'm in Auckland. Great food, even better beer and a great atmosphere. All you need

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    117
    37
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a friend of mine. We went in for dinner on the 12/11, Tuesday. The staffs were very friendly n helpful. Food ordered was fast. The prices were reasonable. We had a 500mg steak for 17+++ on a Tuesday night promotion. The steak was cooked to perfection. It was a great dining experience. Good beer lists too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's like Mussels in Brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Three things that stand out:
1. Food - Mussels are really yummy. If you want to get a good deal, got there on a Monday and you get a mussel pot for half price. Not bad eh? The angus steak is superb. It was nicely done and served to us.
2. Service - Upon arrival, someone greeted us and showed us to our table. Once the food is served, the waiting staff went back to us to check if we have any comments to our food. I think that was being proactive.
3. Location - Almost along central Queen st. No need to go to the Viaduct or upper queen st to look for decent restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“An unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

While meandering through Central Auckland tonight we happened upon the Belgian beer cafe., and managed to grab a table beside some actual Belgium travellers, between swapping travel stories and sinking glasses of cold Stella and cherry beer ( a must for fans of Dr Pepper) we shared an awesome serve of seafood delights, by way of a sea food platter. Tender calamari , a mussel pot, salmon pieces, spicy Shrimp, oysters, and more mussels prepared in a variety of ways, mornay &, spicy tomato, and some salmon skewers. A feast for two and in my opinion, very moderately priced. If you find yourself nearby I can not recommend this place enough. The staff were friendly, and atmosphere was great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Overall this place seemed OK. Service not too friendly. I found a few hairs in my breakfast so was put off to eat anymore. Staff didn't ask how our meals were or take our plates away.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Lucy,
I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience at The Occidental as this is not the standard we strive for. I would particularly like to sincerely apologise that you found hair in your food.

All our staff are trained to check with customers how their overall dining experience has been and I am very sorry that you were not provided with this level of service. As a result of your comments I will be reminding all staff members of the importance of following up with customers so that we can ensure customer satisfaction is our priority.

Thank you for your comments and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to The Occidental soon for a more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards
Manager
The Occidental
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.