We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mussels and european beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe

The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe
6-8 Vulcan Lane, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
+64 9-300 6226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 1,306 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In 1999 The Occidental Hotel on Vulcan Lane, Auckland was transformed into The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe which is the first authentic Belgian Beer Cafe in the Southern Hemisphere. We proudly serve an extensive selection of the finest Belgian beer and some of the best wines from New Zealand and Australia, complimented by authentic Belgian cuisine.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great mussels and european beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The occidental is like a home from home for the decor , beer selection and the great range of meals on offer. Really friendly staff who serve up the fare with a smiile. I had the mussels with fries and complimented them with a lovely belgian beer. All imported stuff and tasty to boot. Definately worth a look for lunch or even dinner. Would vivist again if I was in the neighbourhood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    117
    37
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Frite quantity is smaller each visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We love the steamed mussels with blue cheese and spinach our usual favourite. However the quality does depend on the chef. On this occasion there was a minute glob of cheese and a tiny piece of spinach.Normally frites are a highlight however the size of the bowl has been reduced considerably since our last visit. We visited Ponsonby Rooad Occidental the following evening and found we got much better value for the same dish!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Not very Belgian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pub style place with good Belgian leffe beer (14 each for 500ml). Food was unmemorable - 1 stew (AUS$18.50) and 1 sausage (19.50) - and a bit on the pricy side. Not a lot of choice of places to eat on a rainy Sunday in July!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good Pub, Not good Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We wanted to try something different for breakfast - we tried this place. As a cafe it is a good pub. Go there for drinks and lunch - I would suggest there are plenty of other places to go for breakfast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good beer, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Ran across this pub in downtown Auckland while wandering around looking for Albert Park. What a find! I love Belgian-style beers, and this place has a great selection. What surprised me was the great food. They sell mussels by the kilo, or half kilo, and they were fantastic --- extremely large and tasty. My version featured a creamy broth with blue cheese and spinach --- delicious. I also shared some beer-battered oysters with a friend, and they were maybe the best I've ever eaten!

The decor is very informal and pub-like, with daily specials printed on a large chalkboard. Service was attentive, and the food came right out after our order. At first glance, prices were a bit high. However, like almost all restaurants in NZ and Australia, there is no sales tax added, and no tipping (at least not at lunch). So, a good overall value.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.