We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pub in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OHagans on the Viaduct

OHagans on the Viaduct
101-103 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland 1001, New Zealand (Formerly O'Hagans)
09 3632106
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 1,285 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Irish, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best pub in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have been visiting NZ on business for 15 years (before O'Hagans was built). It is my regular haunt for coffee, lunchtimes or evenings. Good atmosphere, great staff and reasonably priced food. Good pub food, not high end but perfect for what they are trying to achieve. Open late (and early) and as good a place as you will find on the Viaduct.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    37
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Irish bar -- friendly, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

During our holiday in NZ, we visited O'Hagans several times.
We enjoyed it enough to return, and so recommend it. However there was some inconsistency in service.
For two visits we had Nicky as our server -- a terrific Irish lass. Our other servers were nice, but less interested in friendly banter.
Food was v good, but about average in this area -- much competition around the harbour.
Loos are upstairs, with some character... See photo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Right from entering O'Hagans we knew we were in for a
good night. The atmosphere was great, the staff were very friendly and the menu had a lot to choose from. Prices were pretty much standard for the viaduct basin and the food was delicious and we did not have to wait long at all. And the Guiness was, well its Guiness what more do I need to say. Will I go back? You betcha. Will I recommend it to my friends? Double you betcha. Great place you gotta eat there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place to call in for a drink while waiting for friends to arrive for dinner. Staff were really friendly and the atmosphere inside the pub was great with mood lighting and great music in the background

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food and Staff Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went for a meal at o’hagen last night and it is the second time we have been and can only say that we were not disappointed. We ordered the 750g rump steak and it was cooked just the way we wanted it and included plenty of chips, onion rings, mushrooms and sauce of our choice, I cannot recommend this place enough, really enjoyed the meal and the staff are friendly and very helpful WELL DONE

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OHagans on the Viaduct also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to OHagans on the Viaduct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OHagans on the Viaduct, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.