We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal Ive had in Auckland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Connell St Bistro

O'Connell St Bistro
3 O'Connell Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
+64 9-377 1884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $17 - $35
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Located in Auckland's historic central business district, multi award winning O'Connell Street Bistro is an intimate modern European back street Bistro. Awarded Best Wine Experience in the Cuisine Good Food Awards 2014 & holder of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2000. Reservations are recommended
Blackburn, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best meal Ive had in Auckland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

O'Connells is everything the reviews say it is. Beautiful décor, great atmosphere, lovely service and one of the best meals Ive eaten in years. I had Turbot with scampi risotto and never wanted it to end. Every mouthful was flavoursome yet delicate. Pricey but worth every cent. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OConnellStBistro, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello Jane G
Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro.
We're delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us & we look forward to welcoming
you back to the Bistro in the near future.
Kind Regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    51
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oh yeah O'Connell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent our anniversary dinner there after reading reviews in New Zealand's cuisine guide and was not disappointed at all.
Lovely Bistro style food and great portions, no smears, foams or drops of sauce.
Highly recommend .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OConnellStBistro, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi KAGOZ,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your anniversary dinner here at O’Connell St Bistro.
We pride ourselves on great food and bistro style portions without the modern influence of “smears, foams or drops of sauce”.
It is great to hear your recommendation and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“A Little Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having heard so much about this little restaurant I was slightly disappointed with the room and food. I expected a small cosy room with soft lamps on each table. There are lamps on each table but quite modern ones and the room is just a square with tables scattered throughout. Not really moody. The food was solid but not really worthy of the accolades I have heard. Probably better offerings in Auckland. Its a shame as it promised so much.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OConnellStBistro, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello StuckinBangers
Thank you for your recent review of O’Connell St Bistro.
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the ambience of our restaurant, your expectation of a “small cosy room with soft lamps on each table” is exactly what we are. Our dining room is intimate, with 14 tables and our modern lamps sourced from Neoz Lighting in Sydney, Australia create our cosy ambience many of our diners love.
However, we are pleased to hear your thought the food was solid, our Head Chef, Alex Strobach creates a fantastic Bistro style menu which has been recognized by many of our awards which we have received.
We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always good, one of Auckland's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited OCB on a Friday night - reservations a must. From the moment you enter, the service is professional and sincere. A pre-dinner drink at the bar, then invited to the table. The menu has plenty of options and the wine list is comprehensive with a good mix of local and foreign wine at prices to suit any occasion. Its the perfect place to sit back and truly enjoy a good meal. They also take their cheese seriously. A must-do on any visit to Auckland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OConnellStBistro, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello DrStoat
Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro.
We're pleased that you enjoyed your evening once again
& look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Private room & great for parties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very attentive service. Private room, great acoustics, delicious menu. Smart decor. Menu slightly limited (perhaps for private parties?) but everyone very happy with their choice, all dishes beautifully cooked and presented.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello LesleyE
Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro.
With regard to our private room, yes we do use a reduced menu format for large groups
due to the limited size of our kitchen. Our a la carte menu is available for smaller parties in
the restaurant.
We're glad that you enjoyed your evening at the Bistro & look forward to seeing you again in
the future.
Kind Regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Connell St Bistro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to O'Connell St Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Connell St Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.