We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 5 Restaurant

Number 5 Restaurant
5 City Road, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
+64 9-309 9273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 1,306 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $34
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Number 5 Restaurant is an elegant dining restaurant in central Auckland city.We are famous for our passion of New Zealand food and our huge selection of boutique New Zealand wines.It is the perfect place for visitors to Auckland to come and experience dining at its best.As well as our fantastic food and comprehensive wine list, we pride ourselves on our exceptional service. Past guests have included the Rt. Hon. Helen Clark, Her Royal Highness, Princess Anne, Burt Bacharach and Sir Sean Connery.If you find yourself dreaming of a white Christmas, but always have your desires foiled by a little thing called the Southern Hemisphere, then Number 5 has something that might help to make your wishes come true.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

It has been awhile and I had forgotten to get on here to share my experience.

My fiance had obtained a degustation course through grabone to try the place out and the staff treated us just as normal patrons and gave us equal attention. The venue is small, but the opened windowsade the place feel bigger.

The courses were just the right size and we were pleasantly full by the end of it. Each one was explained with just enough detail by the waiter without drawing it out or boring us.

We will go again this year.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    49
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Next to where we were staying and good meal and would recommend to people. The service was great but was a little on the pricey side.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This used to be one of my favourite restaurants, but the last time I was here it was a bit stuffy. The food was good, but the overall experience just wasn't as special as I remember it being.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“You Need to do Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

As you are ranked in the top restaurants in Auckland it is UNBELIEVABLE that when I ordered a bottle of wine, you present us with an opened bottle with 150 mls missing and say, "As it is the last bottle you can have this one at $10 discount". In 40 years of dining at fine restaurants, that is a first!! Just tell me you are out of that vintage and I will order another (as I did). My partner and I spent some obvious time waving away the 2-3 fruit flies hovering around our table/window/food. Don't let that happen and do something about it, if it does. Certainly we told the waitress.
Food was fine and a well presented steak.
Top restaurants need to get the small things right. You didn't!
You have a VERY small menu choice, it will not suit everyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Number Five is ranked in the top echelons of Auckland's fine dining restaurants for good reason: it is simply superb on every level.

Housed in one of Auckland's more historic buildings, it oozes character, and a certain subtle charm, which is complimented by highly professional, knowledgeable, attentive, and warm natured waiting staff.

It also helps that this restaurant is small and boutique-sized, which adds to a sense of dining intimacy and specialness.

My mother and I dined here for her birthday, with a Grabone voucher for a superb five-course degustation menu, created by a wonderful chef and cooking team with exceptional creative flair and sense of flavour, which is reflected in the beautiful textures and balance of their dishes.

Rather than describe the courses here, which would have me engaging in superlatives for hours, I would recommend potential diners check the Number Five website for menu details.

Special thanks must go to our two waitresses, one German, and the other Peruvian, who were charming and perfectly attentive. In addition, the maître-de, Albert, demonstrated excellent knowledge of wine, and a natural passion and enthusiasm for his role as host. Finally, Martina, the owner of the restaurant, is both naturally charming, and is most caring about the welfare of her dining guests.

I could not more wholeheartedly recommend this exceptional fine dining restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 5 Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Number 5 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 5 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.