We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great variety of tasty dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon Poon

Monsoon Poon
Hobson St., Auckland 1001, New Zealand
(09) 3799 311
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 1,175 restaurants in Auckland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great variety of tasty dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant has an excellent selection of dishes and the service was great. The Bali Prawns and Nasi Gorenz were very tasty and filling with rice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    75
    65
    28
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Malabar Fish Curry!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I visited this restaurant last year and decided it was my "new favourite restaurant" and I would go as often as I possibly could. Fast forward a year...
On my most recent visit I ordered the Malabar Fish Curry with Jasmine Rice and my friends ordered the Spicy Chicken Lettuce Cups, Kung Pao and the special of day, a spicy chicken dish.
All the dishes were fantastic and the spice/ heat was just right.
The restaurant has great decor and the staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great value in the Viaduct!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the Hilton so wanted to find somewhere within walking distance for dinner. We'd had a long day and had left it until 7pm to find somewhere to eat and with no booking, it was tough to find somewhere to fit us in!

Monsoon Poon don't take bookings and had a table for us as soon as we arrived. I liked the atmosphere, the decor, dim lighting and funky music however some may find it a bit loud. The food came out unbelievably quick and we ordered lots of different dishes as it was so cheap for what you received.

The food was average, we found the sauces a bit overpowering and there weren't many healthy options but if you're after somewhere quick, cheap and cheerful with friendly service, definitely give it a try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My go to place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Travel to Auckland 4-5 times a year for business and have been doing so for 15 years. This restaurant is a relative newcomer (by my standards) although has been around a good while. When I really can't be bothered to cook then this is the place I go to. Fantastic range of Asian goodies but the absolute best is the Lamb Curry (take care of the cardamom pods). Nans are to die for. Great service and just so inexpensive. Don't miss it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Ever - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant was within 10 meters of Sebel Apartments, near the harbour, and on a cold windy night, this was our 1st choice.
Loved the collection of signed dinner plate. The cooking smells that emanated from the restaurant during the day was mouth watering. It did not let us down. The interior decorations provided good conversation as it was so eclectic with some object catching one's eye throughout the evening. One was able to have a full view of the kitchen: chefs, preparation, cooking and the serving. Each serving was very generous and with taste tests with our friends, each dish had distinctive flavours. There was a quick efficient service from drinks, placing the order, arrival of the food and having delighted in eating an excellent meal, was undertaken within 1 hour. Congratulations.
The atmosphere was casual, bright, and lively due to the number of young professionals, without being overpowering. We were seniors and loved the environment, reminiscent of our working days. The service was exceptional with the establishment prepared and willing to split the bill accordingly.
Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Auckland. Well worth seeking it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Poon also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Monsoon Poon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoon Poon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.