We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and food. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mecca Cafe

Mecca Cafe
85 Customs St West, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
(09) 358 1093
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and food. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Enjoyed a quiet two couple dinner at Mecca Cafe on a wintery Saturday night. Crown was small so plenty of attention from the friendly staff. My wife had the lamb shanks while in chose the fish pie. Both were well presented. The lamb could have used some more vegetables and other than a few scales left on the fish the pie was very nice. Would eat there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    47
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good food, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had dinner here, june 2014.
Nice location ana ambiance.
We had: Fresh snapper today's catch, Oven baked hapuka, glass of chardonnay, bottled red beer.
The oven baked hapuka was excellent, made with fresh fish and good quality ingredients; the fresh snapper, my wife had it, was not quite a "today's catch", and i believed her (she has a great taste for fish), did not taste like fresh fish.
A good choice with a downside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have just eaten the best blueberry muffin I have ever had in my life.... Crunchy on the outside cake like texture in the middle... Scrambled eggs to perfection and coffee excellent ... Well worth a breakfast trip

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Poor coffee. Breakfast ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

All I want in the morning is a good hot fresh coffee (latte) . 2 mornings in a row was only warm and a terrible flavour. Very different from anything I have tasted. Breakfast menu is good but I think they cater to the business traveler who is eating in a hurry and needs something in the belly. Food is average but with bad coffee, I'll eat elsewhere on my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Nice place to eat, with great food.
We shared a great entree: the mecca platter, with chicken, squid, prawns, etc. GREAT.
Also good wines and superb coffee!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mecca Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mecca Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mecca Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.