We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sukhothai

Sukhothai
Corner of Chancery & O'Connell Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
09 377 5088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #322 of 1,180 restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Sukhothai Restaurant has been delighting the palates of favoring Thai food fans in New Zealand since 2004. Our food is quintessentially Thai and as authentic as you would find in Bangkok’s finest dining establishments.Our recipes are being passed through each generation started by our grandmother “Mommy Kurewun” as the recipes are from the traditional Siam style. We have been brought up in Thai family cooking culture surrounding with a big compound family who enjoys home cooking and sharing with neighbours.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Totally delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The absolutely best chicken I have every tasted. Everything else was superb as well, but the chicken and peanut sauce was melt-in-you-mouth and to die for - it was on roast vegetables which sounds odd for Thai but ...

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    12
    3
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Fantastic menu, good service, good ambience, reasonable price - would return again as a first choice

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
568 reviews 568 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai on a windy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Thai food at it's best. We had a wonderful lunch, great service and friendly staff. We were looking foir a lunch spot, passed several to find this gem. Well worth the hunt. I am sorry I have to leave tomorrow, or I would eat here again!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food for upmarket Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Food was delicious. Silky duck curry with fruits. Tender and juicy lemongrass chicken. Menus are so different than other Thai places. Nice ambience!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“$12 Special - say what?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Went there because there was a sandwich board outside announcing $12 Thai Sausage. Sounded interesting. Went in and sat down and found out this was an appetizer. Further, I would have to spend $40 or something to actually eat there! Go Figure? I quizzed management on their advertizing practises and was allowed to eat the sausage for $12 ($9 real dollars). it was not that great anyway.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukhothai also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Sukhothai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukhothai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.