We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location / Food not so pretty...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kahve

Kahve
1 St Heliers Bay Rd (Tamaki Drive), Auckland 1001, New Zealand
(09) 575 2919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,164 of 1,419 Restaurants in Auckland
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location / Food not so pretty...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have been to this place before (4 years ago and 7 years ago) and the quality of the food has gone right down hill. We had dinner there and ordered a terakihi fish and prawn curry in a coconut sauce. It came with rice - but the rice was old lump with some rice totally dried out - must have been yesterday's rice... The other dish, we had was also a terakihi fish (the special) with vege. In both dishes the fish was over-cooked, dry and cotton-like to eat. Unpleasant at best.

You can't beat the views and the location just across from the beach - but perhaps you are better of just having a drink here ...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    6
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Terrible Attitude, best avoided. ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Popped in Sunday lunch. Greeted by the most misrible attitude, it was nothing short of terrible. Dirty tables everywhere, the front of house liked like he'd been pulled through a bush backwards.

We promptly told him to leave it and found a much warmer welcome just a few metres down the road.

Please avoid, you'll be greatful you did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
537 reviews 537 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
409 helpful votes 409 helpful votes
“7 out of 10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Reading the reviews it seems Kahve has an issue with consistency. We enjoyed our brunch of Ceasar salad and egg benedict. The house made hollandaise sauce was one of the best ones I have had. Nice and lemony. Wines by the glass had a good range. We had a table on the balcony overlooking the beach on a nice sunny day. Hard to find fault for a good brunch location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Poor quality meals”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

But at least the drinks were hot! Which is a rarity at a lot of places these days. Had the calamari rice stirfry lunch item. It seriouly was disgusting and only ate some of it because my son hates it when I make a fuss. It. Was basically muss on the plate. He calamari was not browned off/crisped etc and was all clumped together . the rice was stodgy and tasteless. Great location and very friendly staff but seriously bad food

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, excellent food, excellent location all at a reasonable price....even tasty gluten free options are available

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahve also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kahve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.