We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 times in 10 years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill

Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill
99 Quay Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
+64 9-307 0556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 1,307 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill reopened in October 2013 after an extensive, six-month refurbishment program that has taken the iconic Ferry Building's hospitality to a new level. After buying Harbourside in 2012, Good Group committed to a major redesign of the restaurant, with the objective of keeping the traditions of Harbourside that were built up over many years but modernizing both them and the fit out. The result has been a cleverly designed premium seafood restaurant located in an up market environment that delivers a unique experience. A key part of the redesign was the enhancement of the renowned outdoor deck area and the addition of a new retractable roof. Through clever architecture from Salmond Reed coupled with Good Group's own design input and the support from the Historic Places Trust a retractable canopy has been developed that ensures customers can enjoy dining on the deck in all weather conditions. The refurbishment has also seen the linking up of Harbourside upstairs with Botswana Butchery downstairs, via a new internal staircase, creating a multi level precinct that gives customers the ability to dine or visit the bars at either venue and have the convenience of one bill.
Vienna
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“4 times in 10 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Whenever we are in Auckland,we go to tat restaurant- and as a matter of fact:They keep their excellent quality: Not only,but as outstanding dishes: oysters and seafood, very good service and of course the excellent Marlborough Sauvignon blanc.Recommondation for everybody who likes seafood.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    91
    36
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, service; How about that view?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was lucky enough to experience Harbourside restaurant in January 2013 and must say I had a very enjoyable evening.

The food is first class and is frankly a sea food lovers delight. Every plate is well decorated and the restaurant staff have a good knowledge of every dish. Equally they are on hand to recommend the perfect wine to accompany any meal you may choose.

The food and beverages at Harbourside are not cheep but are worth every cent if only for the quality, ambiance and service this restaurant provides.

For anyone celebrating a special evening or just looking for a quality seafood dinner, I can safely say that Harbourside will be able to meet your expectations.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went as a group of 12 and throughly enjoyed the food. The staff couldnot have been more attentive, unlike most of the restaurants we visited in Auckland. We sat outside and were able to watch the boats and people coming and going.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killington, Vermont
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent location and views but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great location with great views of the water front. Upscale restaurant on the second floor with a limited very expensive menu. There are much better choices in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm desert
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The staff went the extra mile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice location in the old Ferry Building. We were seated at a nice outside table one row back from the water. We asked if it was possible to have a front row seat, but they were all reserved. Our Waitress was nice and very helpful in suggestions from the menu. She was very honest on what was good and not so. When we were about finished with the appetizers, our Waitress came up and said that she understood from the Hostess that we wanted a front row table. She said that the party that reserved one did not show up and they could move us. The new table was very nice as we could watch all the action of the ferries coming and going. We ordered the Clam Chowder and it was excellent. It was full of fresh fish and shellfish and had a very good flavor. It was a meal in itself. We also had Calamari that was advertised as "very crispy" but it was wimpy. We had found that to be the case throughout New Zealand so maybe they like it that way. The dinners were very good, especially the "John Dory". Thanks to the Hostess and our Waitress for taking the extra step to make our evening even more enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.