We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese Style” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hammerheads Seafood Restaurant & Bar

Hammerheads Seafood Restaurant & Bar
19 Tamaki Drive, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
09-521-4400
Improve this listing
Ranked #334 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $0 - $205
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Japanese Style”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After eating here many years ago and remembering a great sea food menu, this vsist was quite disappointing. This eatery is based on a Japanese style menu though the chioces are limited and the portions quite small. Some good raw fish chioces, however the sea food platter was small limited and I felt well overpriced. The service was very good however the limited menu let them down.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    14
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Always reliable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Always reliable! Been many times. Menu is great. View great Always busy. Never a problem to alter the menu for different tastes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Sunset dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We timed our dinner perfectly to get an incredible view of the sunset - glorious! We had bread to start which was warm and tasty. The market fish (Snapper and other seafood in tomato coconut cream broth) and eye fillet (with horseradish gratin and cafe de paris) were ordered along with a side of broccolini and fries. Two sides for 2 people was unnecessary as we struggled to finish the broccolini and hardly touched the fries.
My fish dish was outstanding - loved every bit. Fish cooked to perfection, and the squid, mussels, scallops were delicate and went swimmingly with the broth. My husband didn't enjoy his eye fillet much though as it was slightly overdone and lacked flavour. He really enjoyed the gratin but was disappointed it lacked any horseradish taste. The dessert certainly made up for any lack in the main though - the orange brulee was superb! Perfect crack on top, smooth texture, balanced orange flavour and nice fizz with the sherbet. I wish I had room for one myself.
One thing I'd suggest for management - your choice of dinner music wasn't ideal for that type of setting... Las Ketchup? Last time I heard that was at the Loaded Hog ten years ago!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fish with a View !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Dinner with local friends at sun set! what do you expect more ! Good wine, good food and good service.
Wine was good, we know what we want. Riesling from home country.
Food, local fish ,fresh because the right day, good.
Service, could be better. Seems that the golden days of the restaurant is over. Waiter forgot to bring the right wine, than all double , it was a little stress for all fall of us.
However food was excellent, location too, and not every day we all are in the best mood, right !
So we will come again and enjoy the fish with a view!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, CA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely view, tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were taken out to this restaurant and bar by locals. The menu was extensive with meat, fish and salad choices. It had been a cloudy and rainy day but the evening was clear and the view was beautiful. You could see the whole city. We each had an entree and a side. Both the ravioli and the porcini mush rooms were excellent as well as the heirloom tomatoes and the best root salad. We also,had the bitter orange crime brûlée. OMG yummy

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammerheads Seafood Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Hammerheads Seafood Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammerheads Seafood Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.