We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and average food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Degree Gastrobar

Degree Gastrobar
204 Quay St, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
09 377 1206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #425 of 1,284 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor service and average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Mediocre at best, waste of time. We should have gone to other venues in the city rather than the much advertised Viaduct area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    51
    12
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food average, service terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Quiet evening service was almost non existant had to go to bar and order drinks had to almost kidnap a waiter to take our food order, food did come out reasonably quickly however the only word to decribe the food would be average. Would reccommend Marvel Grill for anyone wanting to dine near the viaduct in Auckland NOT Degree

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Slow service, average food, good live music”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I were dining for a late lunch/early dinner on a Sunday afternoon. I was extremely disappointed with our service. We ordered bread and two salads for our main courses and it took almost an hour for our salads to come. The bread came out and was hard and "cool", our salads came out about 45 minutes later and I did not get what I ordered, but did not change the order as it had already taken so long to get. No one came to ask us if we needed anything after our appetizer and we couldn't seem to flag anyone down, anyway. It was not busy, so we were pretty stumped as to why the service was so slow. One saving grace was that there was live music and they were really good. Wouldn't recommend it... on a Sunday, anyway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Enjoyable evening, good food and reasonable prices. Friday evening - be aware that the restaurant is converted into a dance venue later in the evening. Can suit if you want to follow on from your meal and enjoy music/lounge style bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ribs ribs ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Even though we arrived without a booking and place was pumping, the staff were more than happy to find us a seat and make sure we were warm enough (we dined alfresco).

It was a Wednesday and we were all after ribs…….and I have to say these were some of the best I have ever had! I added sides of House Slaw & Kumara Fries which were also delicious.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Degree Gastrobar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 

Been to Degree Gastrobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Degree Gastrobar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.