We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danny Doolans

Danny Doolans
204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
09 358 2554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 1,284 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Canberra
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good pub great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The food looked fantastic, however, we only popped in for a drink, if we return, will certainly go back. Looks like a genuine old Irish pub.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    60
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Good Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I ordered the Galway Mussels and they tasted so good. 2 of my friends ate the Rump Steak. They were prepared perfectly and the Lamb shank was gigantic.

There's live music and they sounded so good. Most of the songs are evergreen country & rock songs. It was enjoyable being there

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went following rave review from a daughter
Exceptionally friendly staff..very clean and tidy appearance..booked table waiting
We used a Grab One voucher and it was a very good deal including wine
Long wait between entree and main on a quiet night
Order for lamb shank unavailable due to having run out...at 6.15
No one came for desserts
Food was fine but service just a little off which was a pity

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDoolansNZ, Public Relations Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hey Wayne, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm just not sure if you reviewed the correct outlet because we do not currently have a grab one deal running in danny doolans. Did you mean doolan brothers Newmarket?? Also we do not have a dessert menu in danny doolans?
I will check this out with doolan brothers Newmarket and pass on your comments, they do have their own trip advisor page if you would like to comment on that!??
Thank you
Fern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you are looking for an early meal in Auckland before you head off to a show or movie you won't get better value than Danny Doolan's at the Viaduct Basin. Order before 6pm and you can enjoy a superb roast or a fish dish for just $14.95 and add a beer or glass of wine for just $3. Great atmosphere in an Irish pub setting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An ok bar for a drink.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We headed here one night after dinner in a group of about 10 people. The bar was busy however service was good. They had a live band playing 80's and 90's music which was great. The bar was quite full and people seemed very happy to push past you without even asking to move past.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danny Doolans also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Danny Doolans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danny Doolans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.