We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, average service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Yum Char Restaurant & Bar

China Yum Char Restaurant & Bar
2 Beach Rd, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
09 309 4808
Improve this listing
Ranked #529 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Dim sum here is really good, place is nice, quite busy during lunch and dinner time. Service is just average, most of staff talks loudly in chinese. For sure will be back for the dim sum.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    13
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent yum char”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you like Yum Char this is your place in Auckland.very good quality,excellent selection not the cheapest but good value.great veg selection as well

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good Food but no Dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

They serve Yum Char for dinner which is a strange concept. Its not the type of yum char that they wheel the food by, you need to order from the menu.
The food is good and came very quickly. Extremely tasty.
The only gripe we had was when we tried to order dessert, practically more than 75% of the dessert menu was apparently 'not available'.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Somewhere the kids will like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We took the kids here for dinner, there was plenty of variety for picky eaters. My only negative - if you could call it one- was that everything came out pretty much as we sat down, and we had our meal ordered, served and eating within half an hour! And then were too stuffed to sit around and let it digest. Lots of Asian people eating there when we were in, so the food must be good by their standards. Not too pricey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good authentic dim sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This typical Hong Kong restaurant serves a very decent dim sum meal, complete with servers carrying trays of food around for your selection. We were surprised that the food was quite true to the real thing. We tried a range of little dishes and enjoyed them all. We also ordered a fish rice congee and pork rice congee to share. Prices were very reasonable. We would definitely recommend this no-frills place to anyone looking for a Chinese meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Yum Char Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to China Yum Char Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Yum Char Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.