We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe On Kohi

Cafe On Kohi
2/237 Tamaki Dve, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 1,419 Restaurants in Auckland
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Simply superb...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have to admit, I have lived in Kohi for many years, but recently moved away.
Cafe on Kohi is the go to for great coffee in the bays, no doubt about it!
A recent Saturday catchup with friends found us looking for coffee in Mission Bay, but we decided to go around the corner to Cafe on Kohi for a wider menu selection, sunny seats across the road from the beach, and great coffee.
I couldn't go past the mushrooms, and we sampled about 3 other dishes, all fantastic! Coffee was superb (as usual), and the wine selection for a hot day was just perfect!
All in all, hard to pass up, and worthy of a great review!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great food and great views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'm a regular at Cafe Kohi which has consistently good food and coffee with service that is just a little more professional than most place. They've just started opening for dinner which is fab too. The white chocolate cheese cake is amazing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have had breakfast here a few times but this was their first week serving dinner and we were greatly impressed.
An interesting menu that obviously changes every few days depending on ingredient supplies. The complimentary sparkling water and breads were a charming welcome touch.
All our meals were tasty, plentiful and nicely presented. Staff were helpful and inobtrusive.
It's really nice to see that a cafe without much competition doesn't ramp up its prices as all mains were under $30 and there were plenty of wines under $50.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Rattle your jewellery at the eggs benny dahling.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Im not sure how to review this cafe.
First off, this is essentially a beachside café – the only one on Kohi waterfront, so its always busy.
Its actually on the other side of the very busy road from the beach (via a pedestrian crossing), so cars and even more dangerous packs of cyclists whipping past all day - not safe for kids outside and not exactly quiet.
The outdoor seats are in direct sun and there is always a stiff breeze but the café provides blankets and sun hats – a nice touch.
The clientele seemed all about expensive / carefully selected casual – people spending way too much time doing make up and selecting clothes to be just the right level of casual.
Overall, its not kid friendly - no kids seats or menu. Reflected by lack of kids. The clientele mentioned above looked on in mild horror at our toddler, terrified in case they get their white linen attire dirty from 3 tables away.
The staff are great. The business seems to have that split of model/waitress types to fill water glasses plus other very efficient staff to actually take orders and manage customers.
Our waitress couldn’t have been better, producing rugs for toddler to sit on in lieu of a kids seat, and some chocolate fish on a stick to keep her entertained, and knew the men inside out and was full of useful information.
It’s a long brunch menu, covering most things, with some nice non standard additions (eggs benny with black pudding for example).
Portions were an ok size - you dont expect a "belly buster".
Prices were on the high side – expect to pay $25+pp for a breakfast and coffee.
Overall – its nice, friendly staff, good food, but not one for the kids.
Alternative – leave the family at the beach, go round the corner to The Store, brave the long queue and buy the same coffee and overpriced sandwiches to take away ($5 for a sausage roll anyone?), and make it a picnic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“We Loved the Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very good Eggs Bene, great coffee, good service and we could see why this is an award winning cafe - yes it's busy, but that is a vote of confidence from the locals who are lucky to have this on their doorstep. Shame that there have been some negative recent reviews beacuse we loved it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe On Kohi also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe On Kohi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe On Kohi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.