We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, lovely, beautiful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Little Italy

A Little Italy
43 Victoria St West, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
379-5813
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 1,284 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: European, Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, lovely, beautiful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Came across this little place on the way to Skycity, awesome little spot inside, food cooked to perfect, would definitely recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Small Place, with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went with a friend, prior to seeing a show. Very little place, so seating is very close together, but is wasn't loud.
Enjoyed a nice pizza bread to start, then lovely fresh pasta dishes. Was so full, but wanted to finish the great pasta.
Pleased a value for money & good location on Victoria Street

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A good selection of great food at a reasonable price. Seating is a little squashed due to the small size of the restaurant but don't let this put you off. Very pleasant service. Would recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
576 reviews 576 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 227 cities Reviews in 227 cities
2,709 helpful votes 2,709 helpful votes
“cheap & cheerful !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were staying at the Skycity Grand Hotel & the Little Italy Restaurant was located just a few minutes away which was excellent as it was around 9pm when we arrived.

The restaurant was very busy & we had to wait for awhile before being served. However; the owner came out & explained the chef was unusually flat out due to the many late comers.

We basically had pizza's to share with salads which were very tasty especially since we were all starving!

Overall: The décor consisted of bench wooden booths, wooden tables & chairs, wooden floors & vines hanging loosely from the ceiling. The restaurant is only narrow & tiny but has a comfortable warm cosy atmosphere. A perfect restaurant for a quick easy meal without any fuss.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most terrible pasta I had ever. Waste of time,and efforts and MONEY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are italian food lovers, and my partner is a chef so no way i could imagine that Little Italy could have disappointed us so much. We ordered veg pasta with mushroom, eggplant and garlic.

When the order came there was no taste of garlic neither any eggplant. instead there were plenty and plenty of diced carrots on the dish. we didnt evemn bother to complain as the service was extremely slow.

Waste of time,and efforts and MONEY

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Little Italy also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to A Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Little Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.