We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archie's Restaurant and Pizzeria

Archie's Restaurant and Pizzeria
61-73 Davis Crescent, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
(09) 523 5111
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,419 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Called in for lunch to celebrate son's birthday on a chilly Auckland day. Very attentive staff made sure I was warm enough by putting the heater on even tho we were inside. Delicious pizzas are crispy base and well covered. The penne pollo and seafood salad were generous portions and very tasty. Lunch special prices didn't mean small servings. If you can manage dessert the tiramisu and chocolate tart are exquisite. Well worth the trip over the bridge.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch menu for $14”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a great little restaurant with indoor or outdoor seating,situated in a quiet corner of Newmarket. The lunch menu has a great choice of delicious pastas, authentic Italian pizzas or salads all for $14. My pick is the seafood salad,beautifully cooked and presented and with a very generous helping of seafood They also do gluten free penne and pizzas, which is not mentioned on the menu do be sure to ask. The staff are friendly and attentive. This is great value for money.This little restaurant is a gem and our favourite when in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Consistently good and always humming along!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My friend and I visited Arhcies on Queen's Birthday Monday and unlike many restaurants and cafe's, there was no surcharge for the public holiday! They also had a special $14 menu which included a large range of their regular menu. The cheaper price didn't mean they scrimped on anything either. Looking around at other tables, we noticed portions were very generous and our pizza's were just as good as ever! Nice crispy base with plenty of fresh topping. The staff were super friendly and efficient and the owner was a great host. I've been here on several occasions with different friends and have always found it a busy and vibrant place with excellent service and equally excellent food. Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The pizzas are awesome and everyone knows it but the seafood pasta is unreal!! Must try if you are a sea food lover!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tasty Meal with very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Went early Friday night with a friends and had the mediterraneno pizza, very tasty not greasy at all, think crispy base and the toppings were very fresh. Friend had the prawn pasta and it was very tasty too, not too skimpy on the prawns (good number included in the pasta) and the sauce had a lovely seafood taste too it. Other dishes going out from kitchen looked great.....Staff were very friendly and helpful. Small restaurant but it gives it a nice vibe, busy when we went at 6pm, recommend to book as not many tables. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archie's Restaurant and Pizzeria also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Archie's Restaurant and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archie's Restaurant and Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.