We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal and some beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel to your Saves list
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Albert Street | Corner of Wyndam & Albert Streets, Auckland 1002, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Auckland
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Meal and some beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I didnt stay in the hotel, but stopped into the bar and had a meal and some beers. The sliders were good, so was the fish and chips on special for fridays at $15 including a beer. Actually the pub is a microbrewery making their own beers which were very good. The ale especially was superb, but why do they serve it so cold !! Food was reasonable - but very good value. Nice atmosphere too. Worth dropping in for an informal meal and a beer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
5
36
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Selected due to location however should have chosen another accommodation option within sight as rooms were below par for what you paid, even at the rates they have going. Paper thin walls mean 'conversations' in adjacent rooms can be heard. Does have a decent shower and room appeared to be clean. The bar is great mind you and most noise from music during week ceases near midnight, not sure what weekend would be like but I would on the whole give the place a miss for overnighters, but do visit the pub for a drink.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel is in city area at Albert Street and very accessible to everything. The hotel has a bar and restaurant and they brew their own beer. Classic rooms and good value for money. Great staff and customer service - they're very friendly!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel itself was really nice. Our room was located on the top floor which meant we had to climb quite a few stairs. Not a problem for us as we are both young and in good shape, but could be a problem if you aren't. The hotel rooms don't start until the third level as the pub and restaurant occupy the first two floors so be prepared if you stay here. Other than that, our room was adequate. It was a good size and the shower was really nice. Ours had a little balcony type thing, couldn't really see anything from it, but it was nice being able to open the window and step outside. The location was good, easy walk to Queen Street where a lot of shops are then just a short walk down to the ferry wharf/Britomart area with a lot of restaurants. Our only minor complaint was the ceiling light above our bed was really dim (didn't really provide much light at all) and only one side of the bed had a reading light. Perhaps adding a second reading light on the other side of the bed would be beneficial.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Recently spent two nights here at the very top of the building. We knew there was no elevator and it was a bit of a mission for us seniors, I counted 73 steps from the pavement to the room. The room was spacious enough but very small bathroom. No views from the windows except tall buildings but I did love the skylight above the bed. Watching the night sky was quite nice. There was a window that opened up and you could stand on a chair and get out on the roof for better views. We had the Wednesday night 500g steak in the restaurant, very nice with lovely salad and fries. Just a stroll down the hill to the harbour and Downtown Auckland. The staff were very friendly also.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Had a rump steak special on Wednesday night with FF's and a salad for $15.00. All very good. Very nice staff and a wonderful old looking hotel that you can stay in too. Think it was built around 1890 or so. Had a lovely dinner here and worth eating at or possibly staying in as well. Right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My brother and I started our NZ trip with an overnight in Auckland at the Shakespeare. We were exhausted from a very long flight from D.C. and were hoping that they would allow for a much earlier check in -- which they did! The room was also excellent and clean and had a little window we could climb out of to get on the roof. The next day, when we had to leave for Rotorua, they let us leave our luggage with them behind the bar while we explored the city before our bus left. On top of this, the beer and the food are excellent and affordable, and the hotel is located in the perfect spot (with the main streets/sites for the city a block or so away only, if that). Highly, highly recommend this place and wish we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel

Address: 61 Albert Street | Corner of Wyndam & Albert Streets, Auckland 1002, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1898 was the birth of the Shakespeare Hotel and ever since then it has been serving New Zealanders and travelers from around the globe with warm hospitality and wonderful flavours in food being New Zealand's first Brewpub, with our own crafted beer, handcrafted from one of New Zealand's award winning Brewers and a mix of local NZ beers. The Location of the Hotel is excellent bang in the middle of Auckland City so close to all transport with buses, ferrys etc within a few hundred meters. The accommodation consists of 10 rooms which are basic with an en-suite and the beds are comfortable. This is not your typical boring hotel. The Shakespeare oozes character and if you are afraid of walking up a few stairs then probably not the place to stay. Each room is different and the rooms on the top floor are more modern than the lower floor. The Terrace Restaurant offers a great mix of cuisine, live music out on the al fresco dining deck overlooking the city every Friday. We are not 5 star in terms of accommodation but we are definitely 5 stars in a good quality Kiwi experience...we look forward to having you as our guests.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Tavern And Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern Hotel Auckland Central
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.