We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Auckland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunderland House
Save
You added Sunderland House to your Saves list
1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 60 Auckland B&B and Inns
Belem, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best in Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sunderland House at the beginning of a 20 days trip around New Zealand. The couple Donald and Kathy deserves kiwi’s reputation of be hospitable, friendly and attentive. Always available for any request, with precious tips that only locals can provide. The B & B has rooms with lovely decor, clean, airy, spacious and comfortable. Our, especially, had a bath which allowed us to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Delicious breakfast with fresh fruit, cereal, homemade muffins and the best flat white of all New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
How wonderful of you to give us such high praise, thank you so much. The flat white coffee has to do with lots of practice, freshly ground beans and although domestic size, a professional espresso machine. Great to know I was up there with the best of them as we are such a coffee nation. Thank you,
Kind regards
Donald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
157
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at Sunderland House at the end of a month long trip in New Zealand and it was certainly one of our favourite places to stay. Donald & Kathy are wonderful hosts and offered very helpful local advice. Their home is beautifully laid out and decorated with an eye for detail but it is comfortable too. The area outside the bedrooms for making tea and coffee is very welcome after a long day sightseeing and the location is good either for catching a bus or walking along Herne Bay into Auckland.
We loved having breakfast on the decking area outside and the fresh fruit, home made muffins and home baked bread was a great start to the day. We felt that Donald & Kathy definitely go the extra mile to please their guests and nothing is too much trouble. Even leaving at 4 am on our last day posed no problem, we were even given home baked muffins and fruit to take with us on our journey.
If we visit Auckland again, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Red room and the Green room and both were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
It is always good to get positive feed back especially when our guests have tried out several suites on offer and found them all comfortable with each one having that special designer edge.
Kathy's muffins along with Donald's home made bread are certainly popular and becoming very much a part of our tasty breakfasts, we are always glad to give away extras to help our guests on their journeys.
Your time spent writing this review is well appreciated and thank you,
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belem, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Ther can be no better b & b in Auckland. Donald and Kathy are attentive, kind and exceptionally capricious with the maintenance and operation of the house. The breakfast is delicious, especially the muffins made ​​by Kathy. And best of all is the opportunity to meet and mingle a bit with the lovely and welcoming Cathy and Donald. We had a 5 day wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
A 5 day stay is unusual for us and it was so nice that we could all get to know one another so well and you were able to use our house like it was your own home. Thank you for the review and pleased that if time had permitted you would have stayed longer,
Hope to see you again in our fine city and indeed our fine home,
Warmest Aroha,
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we only allowed ourselves one night at Sunderland House to break our journey but very glad we chose to spend it here.

We had a beautiful room with a fantastic view over the city including the Telecom Tower. Everything one would need was close at hand, easy tea and coffee making facility just outside the bedroom with beautiful cakes and biscuits.

Cyclone Lusi decided to visit us during the night but did not deter our enjoyment of Sunderland House. Breakfast although only continental was beautifully presented by extremely friendly hosts.

If we are ever in Auckland again we will certainly enjoy the area of Ponsonby and Sunderland House.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Great to know we can beat off "Cyclone Lusi" and make your stay a memorable enjoyment, even with the hatches battened down you were still able to appreciate the living areas and morsel delights that Sunderland House has to give. Thank you for your review and hopefully we will see you again when the sun is shining,

Kind regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hosts, Donald and Kathy, are seasoned travelers themselves, and as a result it seems they have created the perfect b & b - the homemade bread and muffins at breakfast alone are already worth the stay! We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful room, decorated beautifully, and the attention to detail to ensure each person enjoyed their stay was amazing. The location was tranquil, a close walk to the water if you fancy a wake-up dip each morning! We can safely say this is the best bed & breakfast we have stayed in and can't wait to come back next time we are in Auckland.

Room Tip: Can't go past the claw-footed bath in the premier suite, has a balcony and all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
To be 'Top of your List' is fantastic,Thank You.
We often forget how close we are within walking distance to the beach with its sandy shores and how nice it is to dip in the waters, quite a unique experience to the usual main attractions near by. We try to make all our breakfast fare homemade from toast breads, muffins to our scrummy muesli not to mention the platter of local fruits, so it is great that this is appreciated by your good selves.
Thank you again for such a prime review and we trust you will make it across the Tasman Sea to meet with us again,
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was one of our most favourite places to stay in New Zealand. What a charming host Donald was as he welcomed us warmly and briefed us on his lovely house and the surrounding area. We sadly only stayed one night but we thoroughly enjoyed our enormous room with the claw-foot bath and the fabulous breakfast the next morning. His recommendation for dinner at Andiamo was also spot on: one of the best meals we had in NZ. We met Kathy after breakfast the next morning and could have stayed chatting all day! No question where we will want to stay next time we come back to Auckland. Thank you both for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We always take a pride in Sunderland House and what we have to offer, hence getting such a rave revue makes us feel it is all worth while, always trying to "up the bar" to make our guests have the best experience we can provide. Thank you for vindicating our worth and although your time with us was short you still managed to have a great stay.
We are blest with so many great restaurants just 5 minutes walk away, but Andiamo's is outstanding and never fails to please with terrific cuisine
Thank you again
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapoho, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Sunderland House hosts, Donald and Kathy, are quite wonderful. They seem to genuinely like all people -- a nice approach for meeting as many people as they do. They go out of their way to make everything perfect. The house was full when we stayed--though with 3 rooms, it is quiet and yet friendly. Also, the other guests were interesting, and we laughed all through breakfast each of our 4 mornings. Gotta love that! The location was fantastic because it was very close to the bus stop for going downtown or to the ferrys. Or, it was a nice short walk to Ponsonby, with restaurants and shops. And the house itself is absolutely set-up for visitors. The library is over-flowing with books, magazines, newspapers. WAIT--I haven't mentioned breakfast yet, or the ever-full flat white espressos. To top it off, my husband, who isn't a big Bed and Breakfast kind of guy, has gained a new appreciation for B&Bs. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Your review expresses what we set out to do, making a special stay for guests tailored to suit their immediate and future needs and providing a unique experience of kiwi hospitality that they will remember in years to come. Thank you for a well thought out review, covering a vast array of what Sunderland House is all about.
We also enjoyed your Hawaiian graciousness and sense of humor, hope to see you back here someday.
Aloha Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunderland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.