We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Start to our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunderland House
1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Start to our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was the absolute perfect B&B to start our honeymoon on! Donald was extremely accommodating and had our room ready for us at 6:00am as we arrived on a very early morning flight. We were completely exhausted and having a place to lay down for a few hours was heaven-sent. The Red Room was exactly as pictured, there were goodies available in the common area in front of the rooms, the house was just gorgeous, the neighbourhood quiet and peaceful and the breakfast was plentiful and beautifully presented. We couldn’t have asked for anything more and were sad that we only booked the one night.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Your review was greatly appreciated and we were glad to start your NZ travels and married life off with a positive beginning,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
152
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is an exceptional B and B and needs a category all to itself. I stayed there for six nights, was totally cared for, slept well in a charming room, was given a superb breakfast each day and was given very helpful advice for local transport, restaurants and everything I wanted to know. I don't believe it could be bettered

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful accolade of such a positive review. We do our upmost to make our guests experience a memorable time with us. It is great to know we are on the right course to do so.
Thank you again, Donald & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We were very fortunate to have booked the 1st three days of our New Zealand holiday with a stay at Sunderland House - you are in a quiet location but well placed to reach the centre of Auckland and also access the arterial 1 motorway - restaurants and shops are 5 minutes walk away - Donald is a skilled host, giving you as much help as you need, his breakfasts are top class - we enjoyed his company and also that of his other guests in a very convivial atmosphere.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a fabulous review. The new year begins, we are all looking positive and glad that we made your stay and start to you holiday and year special
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Four of us stayed at Sunderland House towards the end of November for 4 nights. What wonderful hosts Donald and Kathy were and the breakfasts that Donald put together were superb. Every morning we looked forward to seeing what new type of bread and muffin he had baked. Our rooms were very comfortable. It's a great pity that they are selling and moving on to a new chapter in their lives as everyone coming to Auckland should have the chance of staying with these fantastic hosts. Thank you for a lovely stay and Good Luck with you future plans.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful view. We have decided not to sell as we so enjoy the company of guests, to make them welcome, comfortable, depart local knowledge and have a very good reason to bake the house bread and discover more delicious muffin recipes. Sunderland House hosts on into the future with pride and joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went to a concert in Auckland and stayed at this lovely guest house. Great host's Donald and Kathy were amazing and made us feel very welcome...even had a welcome sign at front door with our names on! Best home baked bread and cookies! All turned out just Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We strive for perfection and it is nice to know we achieved it with your nights stay with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Sunderland for 4 nights. Donald is an excellent host. Nothing is too much trouble. We arrived at the B&B at 6:00 am. Donald was happy to open for us, and for us to check in to our room and have a quick sleep.

The room was very comfortable as were the beds. The only small thing lacking is a desk/ worktable if you need to use a PC etc. I'm sure Donald has a fold-up available IF you need it ...

Breakfasts were lovely - Continental style with home made muesli and boxed cereals, large platters of fresh fruit and freshly baked bread and muffins.

The B&B is located on a quite street a short 3 minute walk from the main shopping strip, and bus stops etc.

We would definitely stay again. Thanks for a lovely few days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and pleased you stay with us was ideal
Re the desk, we find that the library table is ideal to work off as one can really spread out. If privacy is required or you are on Skype, simply close the library doors, other guests understand that you may well be having a private conversation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I treated my fiancee to a "city" weekend getaway for her birthday. Wow, what a great place. Our red room was incredible, as was the house. All of the little touches are there. Bring a book, lose yourself in the library for hours, or take one off the shelf. What great host's Donald and Kathy were, they knew how to get to the city in time for our concert, and where all of the local art galleries were. All of these comments are so true. So if you want to get in the good books with your partner, come stay here. I think I'm golden to christmas!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your "Glory Words" , we were delighted to be part of your fiancee's 'Birthday' celebration, making your stay as with every guest, special. May your future together be rosie, Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunderland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunderland House to your Saves list