We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome in Auckland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunderland House
Save
You added Sunderland House to your Saves list
1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 60 Auckland B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome in Auckland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were so lucky to be able to stay at Sunderland House as our first stop on our journey Down Under! Arriving on a very early flight and with the advice from Donald on getting a shuttle, we arrived to a very warm welcome and fresh muffins and orange juice (we don't drink coffee but it was available). He had lots of suggestions on what to do and where to go - most helpful. The green room was spacious and very comfortable. Attention to detail seems to be Donald's forte! The location was great. The port and chocolates at the end of the day made for a wonderful nightcap while talking about our day. Donald's breakfasts were amazing that included fresh fruit, Greek yoghurt, homemade muesli, fresh baked muffins and amazing fresh homemade bread! Cappuccino and espresso was also available as well as assorted teas. He is a warm and gracious host that we really enjoyed chatting with while waiting for our airport shuttle to leave. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we trust that Australia treated you just as well, Fond memories from our side as well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
157
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

thir were 5 of us myself,wife, daughter and son inlaw and his father. Well it was wonderful our host
Donald was fantastic, the rooms were more than we expected and the breakfasts to die for. What a
great place to stay while in Auckland, we would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much, we were so glad to make your stay in NZ special and appreciate the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

In a big city like Auckland, I never expected we would find such a quiet, cosy and beautiful place to stay, but Sunderland made it.

When we made the booking, they only had the red room available, which was the smallest among the three. However it did not disappoint us. It was so well designed, from the colors, the furnitures, the matching linen, to even the bottle of port, everying was just so romantic. I'm not suprised the host used to be an interior designer.

Not only our room, every corner of the house looked pretty. Even the neighbourhood was so quiet and nice. I took a short walk around Sunderland in a morning. Most of the houses in the area were like French style villas and had gardens with different flowers. Ponsonby is also my favourite place in Auckland. It has many designer shops, where I often buy gifts for my friends.

The food was not special, but the presentation of breakfast table was impressive. I love anything beautiful, so I did love and enjoy it very much. The hosts were so friendly, and the other guests were great people two. We had some nice chats during breakfast, made a great start of the day.

I've travelled all over New Zealand and have stayed in different B&Bs. Sunderland is still the best so far. It's well designed, comfortable, clean and not expensive! Recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms. We stayed in the red room and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you so much for making the effort to write a review, it is so appreciated and trust you will return back to us again - kind regards Donald Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'm not quite sure what to say. Donald and Kathy do a great job, and the results reflect this. It really did feel very comfortable staying with them, especially sitting around the fireplace talking late in the evening. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast very nice, and included home-made muesli, home-made muffins fresh every day, exotic fruits (at least for us), croissants or toast, and nice coffees.

But really it is the thoughtfulness that Donald brings to the table that makes the difference, such as lighting small T-candles at breakfast or loaning me a book on digital photography that he found especially useful. My guess is that someone else could own this property and it just would not be the same, as they themselves make the difference.

So when I say it felt like home, this was true for us. We were with them for four nights, and it was sad to say goodbye.

In the spirit of trying to include useful suggestions, let me provide three suggestions about our visit to Auckland:
a) We suggest that you ask Donald for advice about to get to their B&B from the airport. I elected to use a taxi given that we were arriving from Boston at 5 AM, and it appears our taxi driver took some liberties with his route, got lost a little at our expense, and suggested a tip even though tipping apparently is not customary in NZ. If you do take a taxi and he goes through the center of Auckland, he is not going on the fastest route.
b). To help with the time lag, we opted to walk from Sunderland House to the city center, which was a lovely long walk along the harbor with perhaps hundreds of sail boats. We had lunch along the central harbor, and then went by ferry across the harbor to Devonport to walk around. It was a lovely day, but also an effective way to deal with the time shift.
c) We visited four local wineries around Auckland. The two that we like the best were actually Villa Maria close to the airport and Ascension an hour to the north. Both have award-winning wine that we don't see in the USA. Villa Maria has an especially lovely site, and some very nice reds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights when we first arrived in New Zealand. We could not have had a more warm, generous, and friendly welcome to the country that was to become our home for the next year.
Although we arrived early in the morning, Donald greeted us with perfect cappuccinos and delicious muffins and sat us down in the beautiful library next to the fire, with sweet Ben the dog at our feet.
We stayed in the Green Room and as other reviews have mentioned the rooms themselves are lovely - from the chandeliers to the wall art to the curtains, everything is thoughtfully and tastefully put together. The beds are very comfortable and come with heating pads for the winter months.
There are tea and coffee making facilities just outside the rooms and Donald always has a plate or jar of his fresh-baked cookies and cakes available. Breakfasts always include a big platter of fresh fruit as well as Donald's yummy homemade muesli and muffins.
The best part of the B&B, however, are Donald and Kathy themselves. They are incredibly kind and generous and will go out of their way (and well beyond their duty as B&B hosts) to help you. We consider it one of the greatest pieces of luck to befall us this year that we chose to stay at Sunderland House and met these two wonderful people (not to mention their wonderful dog).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for such high praise, we look forward to your return visit and to make your stay in NZ even more memorable - Kia Ora Donald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A lovely, lovely B&B! So charming, comfortable, cozy... Beautiful yet homey decor. I did not want to leave. Delicious breakfasts made by Donald - loved the homemade granola! Stayed three nights in the Red Room and thoroughly enjoyed it. Nice, special touches like homemade cookies in the hall, chocolates & sherry in the bedroom. Interesting and gracious hosts, and talk about a small world, the business associate I was coming to meet in Auckland looked up the B&B's web site I gave him to find out where I was staying, and realized Kathy was a relative he'd not seen in decades! What are the chances of that? I will be sure to stay here again the next time I'm in Auckland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful wonderful review, it is so appreciated and does help with knowing we are doing all the right things. Yes it was great to reconnect with our cousin and thank you for reminding us (I need to catchup with them).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We have stayed in many great B&B's in NZ over the past 4 years, however Donald and Cath definetly win 1st prize.
Great accommmodation, fab breakfasts and interesting fellow guests as well as the perfect hosts.
We stayed 9 nights in all and were very sorry to be leaving.

Would definetly return!

Room Tip: Pink room and Green room both good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunderland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.