We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bush and Beach - Coromandel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bush and Beach

Bush and Beach
Henderson, Auckland 0650, New Zealand
64 9 837 4130
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$59*
and up
Ranked #8 of 159 Activities in Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bush and Beach is Auckland's premier small-group tour company. Daily award-winning tours take you to Auckland's coastal rain forest, wild black sand beaches, untamed Great Barrier Island, Coromandel Peninsula and now HOBBITON. Our experienced guides provide an interactive, unforgettable experience, including walks in lush rainforest, on awe-inspiring surf beaches, to lush wetlands and beautiful waterfalls.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Bush and Beach - Coromandel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Coromandel trip involved a lovely drive up the coast from Thames to Coromandel. It is quite a long trip, several hours, with great scenery and interesting stops along the way. We visited the Driving Creek Railroad with the view from the Eyeful Tower at the top. We went over the 309 Highway to the huge Kauri trees then on to Hot Water Beach where the hot water comes up through the sand. (We actually weren't able to sit in the hot sand the day we went, as the tide was too high.) We had a nice lunch at the Hot Waves Cafe/Gallery then a lovely walk down to Cathedral Cove where some of the Chronicles of Narnia were filmed.
Wayne was our driver/tour guide and he was great. He is extremely knowledgeable about pretty much everything. He loves his country, and is very excited to share it with visitors.
We loved this trip, and I would highly recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenThornton113, General Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed our Coromandel Day Tour withj Wayne. Most overseas visitors who want a full day tour from Auckland choose the Bay of Islands, Rotorua or Waitomo. The Coromandel Peninula by comparison is a real hidden gem. Glad that you enjoyed Wayne's commentary too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    19
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trip to Hobbiton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a great time doing the "Hobbiton Express Tour". Our guide picked us up in Auckland and drove us down to Hobbiton. You could see that he really loves his job, he told us all kinds of stuff about Auckland and made even the drive a fun time.
In Hobbiton we enjoyed looking at all these cute hobbit homes and took loads of pictures! Even the pub "Green Dragon" was open, so we could have a mug of beer :)
Bush and Beach also organized a great lunch for us!
It was an awesome daytrip!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenThornton113, General Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hi Mara1990 - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your tour to Hobbiton with us. The opening of the Green Dragon Inn has really added to the enjoyment of the tour. As you experienced, guests have the choice of English Ale, Cider or Ginger Beer as part of their visit. Glad that you enjoyed the lunch too! Finally, The Hobbit was released in NZ on 12 Dec and the set looks just like it appears in the film!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wilderness Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Absolutely loved the informative narrative about Maori culture and the environment around us, including descriptions of native trees.

Loved the pie shop we stopped at for lunch as well!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenThornton113, General Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our guides are extremely knowledgable about all aspects of New Zealand's flora and fauna and Maori culture / history is also an integral part of their narrative. And yes, we also know where to find a good pie shop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How to enjoy rain in the forest, and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Probably the 'wild' weather conditions (torrential rainstorm plus tornado) made this tour very special, but I guess it would be also enjoyable in a sunny day! Beautiful views, fascinating paths, hidden corners full of atmosphere, and a remarkable guide.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenThornton113, General Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed the day. Yes, Auckland's weather on December 6th was one out of the box! We offer a rainforest experience but the rain that day was a little more than we are all used to. We look forward to hosting you again on a nice sunny day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Awesome day and excellent tour of Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

If you are like me and never visited New Zealand before I was amazed at how big Auckland is. Booked the best of both worlds tour which had a tour of Auckland and the western and eastern beaches. Good grief New Zealand is loaded with scenery and to find that all within 60 km of the CBD wow. Absolutely loved Piha Beach with its black sand (hot sand) and awesome lion rock. Second best would have been the war memorial and rose gardens. Book a tour let your guide ramble on and have a guaranteed fantastic day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrystleBT, Front Office Manager at Bush and Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi there,

Thanks for your great review and so pleased you enjoyed your day in Auckland with us. The Best of Both Worlds tour really does live up to its name and is a great way to see Auckland if you have just one day. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in New Zealand.

Thanks
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bush and Beach also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Bush and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bush and Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.