We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel stay ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Auckland to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Auckland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Wyndham Street, Auckland 1011, New Zealand (Formerly All Seasons)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel stay ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Unless you intend going out all night clubbing, avoid this hotel. the noise from the drunks in the street outside didn't allow any sleeping until five in the morning. The rooms are small and very basic, which is probably to be expected given the low price. Neither of the two rooms we booked had a remote for the small TV and some of the furnishings were broken. The lack of a bedside light was a problem. Also no real food available, you are directed to another hotel five minutes walk away.
In the end we couldn't bear to stay for the second night and left.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesAuckland, General Manager at Ibis Styles Auckland, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Kyandarion,

Thank you for your feedback, it is unfortunate that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us.

Ibis Styles is a budget 3 star property and as such does have limited facilities that you may expect to receive at a higher star rated property. The hotel does provide a continental breakfast option, though should guests require assistance in making dinner reservations we happily recommend our sister property's restaurants - Lava Restaurant at Sofitel Viaduct Harbour or Vue Restaurant at Mercure Auckland, both of which are only moments away.

As Ibis Styles is located in the central city, there can be at times some additional noise from the surrounding area, I am sorry to see that this impacted upon your stay with us.

In regards to the comments relating to your room, please feel free to contact me directly if you should wish to discuss further.

Regards
Caz Vance
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    171
    351
    345
    409
See reviews for
115
536
296
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

There is no way this hotel is a 3-star. The room had no ventilation as the small window latches were broken off and the door handle to access the small balcony was broken off and lying outside the door. Paint was peeling from the walls. The "wardrobe" was only accessible if you climbed on a small cube stool/seat. The bathroom was tiny, no plug was supplied with the washbasin and the shower did not drain so the whole room was a pool of water in no time. On top of this the hotel is next door to nightclubs, one of which has a 5am licence and it sounded and felt like we were in the club!. We had booked for two nights but after the first. Worst hotel experience of my life!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesAuckland, General Manager at Ibis Styles Auckland, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear MozzieMoon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

I am concerned about the issues you encountered during your stay, therefore can I ask that you please contact me directly to further discuss:
generalmanager@ibisstyles-auckland.com

Regards
Caz Vance
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Anyone wanting a centrally located hotel handy for everything in Auckland, then book this one. Anyone wanting a quiet night's sleep in comfortable, quiet rooms, then don't book this one.
We knew what we were booking, a good priced central hotel, but boy was it noisy. Also in the middle of major renovations, so wasn't the best experience ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed in room for 1 night as we had a function in town to go to.
Room was small and not the cleanest, there was a big mark down the cupboard door, bathroom ceiling looked moldy and pillows were hiding marks on walls.
Bathroom was tiny and no shower curtain so water went everywhere.
It was a cheap room so was good for the price and location

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesAuckland, General Manager at Ibis Styles Auckland, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Suzy Q,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed your function in the city of sails!

I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us at Ibis Styles Auckland, it seems that there were a number of issues during your stay with us. Please note that I will personally investigate the areas you have raised in your review.

Please contact me directly to further discuss your concerns, and once again thank you for your comments.


Regards
Caz Vance
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while in Auckland for a concert. Good location and easy enough to find. The reception area was basic but nice enough, and staff were friendly and no trouble.
Our room was terrible, it was on the first floor so we went to take the stairs instead of the lift. Once you walked up to the stairs to the first floor there was a locked door saying the stairs were for emergency access only. Would have been helpful to know this before we walked up there.
Only 1 of the 2 lifts was working and they only accommodated abut 5 people at once. There were often more than this waiting and seeing as there were about 12 floors (cant remember exactly) it took forever to get anywhere. Frustrating seeing as we only needed to go one floor!

The hallway to our room was dark and smelled like cigarettes. There was a rubbish bag near the lifts that didn't disappear at all during our stay. The room was at the front of the hotel looking out over the street, the sliding door opened above the covered entrance and was full of cigarette butts, empty beer bottles and other litter. The room itself was basic and needed a new paint job. Very dark and not very comfortable at all. There was a bar/club right next to the hotel and with our room being on the first floor it was very loud and sleeping wasn't easy until the early hours when everyone left.

You can pay extra when booking to get a room on a 'higher floor'. Two friends of ours stayed at the same time (they booked after us but checked in before us). They ended up on the top floor (without paying extra) and the room was much nicer, brighter and well maintained with decent views as well and being so high up there was no noise. Had we been given this room I would probably have given the hotel 3 stars.

That said it was a bed for the night which was the main goal, if we'd stayed longer than 2 nights I would have asked to move rooms. You get what you pay for I guess. Still, not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked online for a room with 'cooking facilities'.
We arrived straight from the airport, after a multistop flight from London, to find we didn't even have a kettle! No toaster. No microwave. 2 burner gas hob....not connected.
Very noisy weekend nights, which you expect in a city centre, but not when all the windows and doors are shut!
The place was dirty, the carpets weren't vacuumed the whole 5 days we were there. Lift out of order. Would not recommend!

Room Tip: Choose a room....in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalwhinnie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived in Auckland and were driven to the hotel to check in. When we arrived there was a paper sign on the hoarding outside saying that the hotel was closed and that we should visit the Mercure hotel on the main street. This we did only to be told that we were to be accomodated at another Mercure hotel around the corner. When we arrived we were shown to a room that had seen better days. The carpet was such that I would not walk on it in my bare feet, the bathroom was tatty and the breakfast was appaling. The yoghurt was tasteless, the tea was tasteless the fruit was tasteless and that was the choice. We eventually visited the larger, newer Mercure and asked if we could have breakfast. This was agreed and the choice and standard was very good and the location was superb. The staff were friendly and very kind.
What was really disappointing from our point of view that the Ibis was closed after we had made the booking but no one informed us that this had happened.
After our wonderful stay in an Ibis in Singapore we were shocked by the lack of communication and service in the hotels in Auckland.
Comon Accor, you can do better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Auckland

Address: 20 Wyndham Street, Auckland 1011, New Zealand (Formerly All Seasons)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Auckland 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Styles Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Formule 1 Hotel Auckland
Auckland Formule 1 Hotel
Ibis Styles Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.