We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff, good; guests, bad; smells of curry” 2 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge

Save Saved
You added City Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   150 Vincent Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bethlehem, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Staff, good; guests, bad; smells of curry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We spent three days here, and would not have stayed beyond the first had we not fully paid up front. The guests at this hostel are the rudest we met in NZ, and the place just reeks of curry (and we love curries of all sorts).

We should have spent more money for a nicer place; this place was kinda gross. It is also very loud, as some of the guests come home drunk and yelling & running down the hallways at 5 and 6 am. The bed was just absolutely AWFUL and caused our backs to ache for the rest of our trip. Thermoregulation was a problem. The TV sucked, was tiny, and had snowy basic radio channels. We stayed elsewhere in NZ for less money, which MUCH nicer accommodations.

If you are looking to camp indoors with rude people and curry effervescence, you found your place.

The staff was very helpful and called discount cabs for us, which were great.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    75
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
11
68
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Nice clean and great location!
Very good cleaning staff, they clean everyday and give fresh linen and towels.
Very close to city centre.
Only negative are the inconsiderate backpackers in the basement common room, who make a tremendous noise and disrupt sleeping, and works on a new hotel next door were a bit annoying.
Overall, a good hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ZEALAND
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Went for the Budget Double Room with my wife. The room was bigger than we'd expected.
Great location. A little off but close to crowded streets of central Auckland.
As of May 2009, the construction of neighbour building is still going on, but it wasn't bothering us too much. For us, it was just like street noise during the daytime.
The staff cares about their guests, facilities, equipments and services they provide. Also, good security.
After 2 nights booking, we extended our stay for another 3 nights. We would like to stay here again when coming back to Auckland.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

As always, i will preface this by saying that my husband and i are both medical students on a very low budget.
City Lodge was a great place for the two of us. Our bed was comfortable and our room was clean. We stayed in a private double room with our own private bathroom & shower. The room also had a mini refrigerator and heater. Downstairs, there was a very large kitchen and recreation area for common use, where we cooked a quick meal quite easily. The hotel gave us a key so we could come and go as we pleased. Also, we read on TripAdvisor to request not to stay near the kitchen (due to noise??) so we requested that and stayed on one of the higher levels, which gave us a nice view and was very peaceful and quiet.

The location was great and was easy walking distance to Auckland Sky Tower and the downtown area (and the place where we rented our car from to start our trek North). There was also parking in the back for us to load our car in the morning of our departure.

We booked through Wotif.com and got a good deal. Also, City Lodge's own website has some good (accurate) photos.
Overall, it was very clean and a great location. I would definitely stay there again if we return to Auckland.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed at the CIty Lodge for 3 nights and was good value for money and situated in good location for walking to the viaduct, ferries, shopping areas and parks.

The kitchen was great for those wishing to save a few $$ by eating in with plenty of preparation areas etc.

The rooms were on the small side and could be a little noisy from traffic and building works outside but then this is a central city hotel I guess!!

All in all we found CIty Lodge to be good quality budget accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2009 with a friend in a twin ensuite room. The hotel is located within a 10 minute walk of the SKYCity Tower & InterCity bus stop. It's located on a quiet, tree -lined street lined with office and apartment buildings. There's a sandwich shop across the street but otherwise you'll need to walk down the block to find a convenience shop and restaurants. The street seemed safe. City Lodge is a tall building with a small reception area, 1 elevator, 1 exterior stairwell, and a kitchen/lounge
area in the basement. They have 2 annoying computers with internet ($2 fof 20 minutes. Use all the time at once or loose the extra minutes. Also, the last minute, the computer freezes up.). I'd recommend using one of the Internet cafes located on Queen Street.

Our room was larger than expected for a hostel. The beds are not firm and the pillows are pillows are paper thin. The comforters were thread bare and quite old. In the room there's a kettle, mini frig, TV with a decent amount of channels, and tea bags. The bathroom has a toilet and shower and towels. A maid comes in daily to empty the trash and give you new towels if needed. The bathroom and room has windows. Despite the open windows, it was HOT! The room was unbearable in the day time and evening until after midnight when the room finally started cooling down. The temperature made it difficult to sleep. But the noise made it even more difficult. There's construction going on next door- an entire building is going up and the construction begins at 7am. Hammering, drilling, yelling... and the new building is an arm's length away from City Lodge. In addition, the first night a group of people were partying until 2am outside my window. The sound of yelling, singing, and beer bottles breaking drifted up into my room for hours and hours.

Overall, you can't beat the price. You get what you pay for. The place is safe and clean. And apparently, it's better than any other hostel in town.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

I stayed at City Lodge for a little over 3 weeks this month, and can attest to the great value this place represents. I did take a look at a few Backpackers' places in the area (including the YMCA, which is right next door) and for the price, this place IS IT. I really can't understand why anyone in their right mind who is looking for a room in the NZ$50-100 range would stay anywhere else.
I found the reception staff (all three of them) to be very friendly and extremely accommodating, and to me this means a lot. Heck, even the housekeeping staff is kind!
The rooms themselves are small, it's true, but you get your own modern bathroom with a roomy medicine cabinet over the sink, plus your own small TV with at least 4 or 5 decent channels. For the price, none of the other places I visited offered these features.
A couple of tips for you now. If you intend to stay at City Lodge more than a couple of days and/or to spend time in your room during the day, ask for one of the rooms with a number ending with a 07 or higher (rooms with numbers ending in 01-06 may be noisy during weekdays over the next few months, as a 5-6 story building is currently under construction on that side of City Lodge). The other thing is that if you need wireless internet and have your own wifi device with you, you'll get the best signal in rooms 211, 407, 408, 611, 807 and 808 (their routers are located in the hallsways close to these rooms). The charge for a wireless Internet access code is NZ$12 for 250MB of data transfer, valid 30 days - to give you an idea, Skype calls (which should be of decent quality, as the speed is quite good) will use roughly 1.5MB a minute. For me, I found that 250MB would last me 2 to 4 days with quite a lot of emailing and voip phone calls (I made it a point not to listen to music or download images/videos while there though).
My room was a "Luxury" Single (not sure it is the term they use for it - it's basically a room for one person, but with a double bed instead of a single bed), and they gave me a weekly rate of NZ$395 (the YMCA next door offered me a small concrete room with a tiny single bed, no TV and a tired-looking shared bathroom for NZ$400 a week!). You can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: 150 Vincent Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Specialty lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lodge is a fresh central CBD budget accommodation, established in August 2005. Nestled in one of Auckland's unique oak tree cladding streets, City Lodge provides a clean, friendly and warm environment, offering a range of rooms all of which contain ensuite bathrooms, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. This convenient location is close by to the main shopping facilities and restaurants, however if you wish to stay in and cook we offer a self-catering kitchen/TV lounge area and 24 hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.