We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cheap accomodation in Auckland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge to your Saves list
City Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Milazzo, Italy
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cheap accomodation in Auckland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I booked City Lodge simply looking at the central location, and I was positively surprised by its comfort. Rooms are nice and very clean, they have tv and fridge. The lounge is wide and comfortable, the staff is friendly and the information provided was accurate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It’s great to hear you enjoyed staying with us. We love what we do and it's always positive to hear that our customers find City Lodge such a great surprize, best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    89
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
73
66
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I recently spent a long weekend at the City Lodge. The location is great only minutes away from Auckland CBD and the Sky Tower. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was very clean. The only downside was that the room was extremely small. So, as long as you have realistic expectations about the size of the room you should have a very enjoyable stay at the City Lodge. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm unsure what room type you booked but we can offer different room sizes from Single to Superior Queen. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Auckland and look forward to your return, best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Good location, close to Skytower, nice staff, however extremely small room, no microwave oven which is expected by backpackers. wifi charge is a bit higher at such a budge hotel with limited data allowance.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we have an extensive kitchen for our guests to use which includes microwaves, ovens, Hobbs, rice cookers, blenders, toasters etc. In regards to the Wi-Fi guests can purchase vouchers from reception with the cost ranging from $3.00 $5.00 and $10.00 for one GB. We hope to see you again upon your next trip to City Lodge and appreciate the time taken to share your comments. Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I returned to City Lodge.
Last time I've been there was september 2012 and I stayed for 3 weeks.
The staff is always very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and warm.
The City Lodge is in a good location: 10 min walk from the CBD and Ponsonby.
Excellent value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for returning to City Lodge, always great to see our customers come back and stay. Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very pleased with this choice and would stay at City Lodge again. Friendly staff, clean room with a great view of the Tower. Nice, clean kitchen/lounge area. Easy to get into CBD. Good value for money.

Room Tip: We asked to have a room on a higher floor with a view of the SkyTower...we could see people bungy ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, kind regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

City lodge is good value. The rooms are comfortable, clean and tidy. The staff were all friendly and courteous. . The room heaters work well too! I didn't get cold despite it being five degrees and pouring with rain the day I arrived. It can be a little noisy with not much sound insulation but I was fine with earplugs. It's well locate and it's not far to get to Queen street or anywhere else in central auckland.
I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi, thanks for your feedback. Yes it sure has been cold recently and winter has only just begun. We hope to see you again upon your next return to Auckland. Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times, and not once did it fail me. In my most recent stay just this month, I was very impressed with the cleanliness and how cheap it was.The staff were also very friendly. It was close to everything, and I have the great view of the skycity tower in y room! Very clean rooms, good value for money, excellent staff:) Will definitely stay here often!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoy staying with us. We look forward to your return, best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: 150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lodge is a fresh central CBD budget accommodation, established in August 2005. Nestled in one of Auckland's unique oak tree cladding streets, City Lodge provides a clean, friendly and warm environment, offering a range of rooms all of which contain ensuite bathrooms, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. This convenient location is close by to the main shopping facilities and restaurants, however if you wish to stay in and cook we offer a self-catering kitchen/TV lounge area and 24 hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.