We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value city stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge to your Saves list
City Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value city stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed a night here before catching an early train the next morning. Although just away from the very centre of Auckland, the City Lodge is an easy walk into town and in a very good location for places to eat. Okay, the room was not the largest we've ever had but, for the price we were paying, it was excellent value. As others have said, this place has the feel of a hotel more than a hostel and the good bathroom, fridge, tv and tea-making facilities etc were welcome extras. Everything was spotlessly clean; the front desk staff friendly and helpful. We didn't use the kitchen downstairs but it looked like a well-equipped and spacious area. Early morning check-out not a problem. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we try really hard to exceed our guests expectations I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes for 2013. Regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    89
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
73
66
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in one of the ensuite double rooms for 3 nights. The staff on duty was very helpful when we called up to ask about rooms, and was obliging when we asked if we could have a room on one of the higher floors. When we checked out (about 4am in the morning) the night staff on duty was very helpful.

Our room was generally very clean, if a bit small. There's a TV, bar fridge, and coffee/tee making facilities. It is a pretty big hostel with 8 floors, located on a fairly quiet side street. Having said that, it seemed very quiet when we were there. The kitchen facilities were great, very clean and tidy, and storage for cooking items were clearly marked. They also have laundry facilities. The hostel is eco-friendly. There's limited off-street parking at $15 per night at the lodge itself. There was no space left when we arrived, but they also have an arrangement for lodge residents to park in the carpark at the nearby Rendezvous hotel for the same rate, which we found convenient.

A couple of small issues: A couple of our towels seemed to have a couple of stray hairs on it. Also, there was no air conditioning in our room - not an issue for us as it wasn't that hot when we were staying there.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a higher floor facing the city and the sky tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments about City Lodge. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to the hair found on your towel I have spoken to House Keeping and reminded them to check the laundry as we out source our linen from a commercial supplier daily.
We hope to see you again at City Lodge in the future. Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Myself and 2 other female friends stayed in a "Quality Room" consisting of 2 bunk beds at a rate of $155 for the room in Dec 2012. The room was clean but was tiny! With less than a metre space between the bunks. Not at all as we expected based on the pictures on their website. On top of this the bunks were the cheap, annoying, creaky ones which rattle every time one of your room mates move in their sleep. We stayed on a Sat night and their was significant street/nearby partying noise and yobbos in other rooms/outside talking and "ya-hooing" in the coridor so we did not get much sleep. The reception/security should have done something at least about behaviour and noise generated by their owns guests but when this was raised the next morning upon checkout they appeared unaware and disinterested.
We moved to the "Quality Suites Apartment" and for only an extra $5 ($160 for the room) we got an apartment with a lounge, separate bedroom, kitchenette, washing machine and only 2 blocks from the ferry wharf as opposed to a 20 min walk.
City Lodge may suit solo travellers but if you are travelling with others the cost they charge for a group room is not justified and you can find better in Auckland city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. After returning from Holiday I read your email and conducted a meeting with the night receptionist to remind them about checking the floors for noise on a regular basis.
I would like to offer an apology for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Auckland.
Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The City Lodge in Auckland is more like a hotel than a hostel. Very professional check in (aside from the receptionist charging us too much which he rectified immediately). We were on the 7th floor so it was very big for a hostel. Our room was lovely with a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and plenty of plug sockets. The only thing wrong was no air con and the room was unbearably hot when we walked in which only got worse. We opened windows and then woke up freezing in the night. 

The kitchen and lounge area was in the basement and was very well equipped with multiple sinks, lots of work surface space and cooking utensils. There were nice touches around the hostel like free sun cream at every exit. We would definitely stay here again. 

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for placing your comment on Trip Advisor. I understand how difficult it can be when the room is warm, for our guest convenience we do have fans available from reception. I will check that this information is listed within the room compendium.

I hope you had a great time while in Auckland and we look forward to your return. Best wishes Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We enjoyed our 1-night stay. The staff was nice, the room was clean and comfortable. We are from a large city and always use earplugs to sleep at home or away so the street noise on this Saturday night did not bother us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback, we are very pleased you found City Lodge a great place to stay. We hope to see you on your next travels to Auckland, best wishes for the holiday and festive season, Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Got the Superior Queen Ensuite room, super clean and nice room. Downstairs common area with kitchen is really unexpectedly well done. And to top it off the staff is awesome, will be staying here in the future for sure

Room Tip: If your a couple the deluxe ensuite is great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding the staff at City Lodge. I always share feedback with the team and I know they will be very proud to read yours. Best wishes for the holiday season ahead, kindest regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

After a one year absence, I returned to the Lodge several months ago. I was very warmly welcomed back by everyone who greeted me personally and have continued to be respectful, polite and helpful. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Rooms towards to harbour bridge are lighter because of the sun direction. Rooms on level 9 have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We always enjoy seeing our regular guests return to City Lodge. If we can provide any additional services that would make your stay even better just let us know. Best wishes for the coming festive season, Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: 150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lodge is a fresh central CBD budget accommodation, established in August 2005. Nestled in one of Auckland's unique oak tree cladding streets, City Lodge provides a clean, friendly and warm environment, offering a range of rooms all of which contain ensuite bathrooms, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. This convenient location is close by to the main shopping facilities and restaurants, however if you wish to stay in and cook we offer a self-catering kitchen/TV lounge area and 24 hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.