We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge to your Saves list
City Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Five Star Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My son and I stayed at City Lodge for 6 nights and we both rated this as a five star hostel for location to city sights, friendly & helpful staff, clean rooms & comfortable beds, large well appointed kitchen & common room. It was the little things that made the difference like access to umbrellas & notes under the door advising us of shuttle pick up to the airport etc. etc.

Room Tip: We had a twin room with an ensuite with night noise as you would expect in a city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Auckland and thank you for the feedback, best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    89
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
72
66
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at City Lodge for nearly a month while looking for a flat in Auckland. City Lodge is a perfect place for such a stay - it offers spotless and very comfortable (if a bit small) rooms for a good price. The communal kitchen was alway clean and well-equiped and the staff were always amazingly helpful, polite and nice. We had a really good time staying there and would recommend it to all travellers, especially young couples and students.

Room Tip: try to get a room on a higher floor facing Auckland CBD - the views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I booked this accommodation on price and the rooms on the internet looked clean and tidy... My room was upgraded on arrival. I was pleasantly surprised with my room (I thought I may have got a room that was not like the one on the internet - but it was :) ... but I was really impressed and will definitely stay again. My room was clean and tidy... it was compact but I expected that.. The bedding was crisp, clean and white, pillows were great, tea,coffee and milk is supplied. You do need to take your own face cloths, soap and shampoo but towels are provided.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your survey about City Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed the stay and hope to see you again in the future. Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had orignally planned to stay at city lodge, unfortunately, a change of plan makes it not feasible.

Despite that, a special thanks to Ravi, Pol and Tina, who had provided exceptional customer service and being ever so prompt and ready to help in my intended stay planning via email.

Cheers!
Peiyan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for such great comments about our reception team. We try very hard to exceed our customer’s expectations. I have posted your comments on the staff notice board for all to read. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future, best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed there for 4 days 3 nights in the single room with attached bathroom (double bed). First impression of the room was very clean, neat and tidy. The toilet is spotless. I love the bed - it is soft and very comfortable. However, those who prefer firm beds may not like it. The location is very good - near town, and you can hop into the bus right outside to go down to the train station ($1.00). It's a quiet area, and the building is also quiet - you're ensure of a good night sleep. The staff are very helpful, polite and I love chatting with them.

CON: One thing to caution. I have been reading from some sites that they offer free wifi. Unfortunately, when I booked via Agoda, I did not look into this too carefully and ended up with no free wifi. I have checked with the staff, apparently, free wifi is only applicable to the first 30MB. I would say this is a little misleading.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your review on City Lodge. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be very helpful. In regards to the Wifi we do ask the different websites that offer this incentive to list as 30MG however it is often just a tick box option with no comments able to be loaded. I take your comment on board and will discuss with Agoda.

Just to let you know in regards to the bedding. Yesterday we installed brand new Sleepmaker beds into another 40 rooms. The new mattress is even more comfortable and firmer ensuring we exceed our guests expectations and maintain our 5 Star rating

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday while in NZ, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Repeat customer, service was great, spotless rooms, central to all central city facilities, secure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I will ensure housekeeping is made aware of your positive comments. Thanks again for taking the time to complete the survey. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed for one night in a private double room. It was clean and comfortable, and also small, but that wasn't a big deal. We paid to park in their little lot for $15. Even though we had to check out the next day at 10 they let us keep the car there til noon. The accommodation is close to the downtown area. You buy wifi from them by megabyte/gigabyte instead of by time, which I think is a good idea. The person at the desk wasn't that helpful when I asked about some activities to do- he told me to just go look at a poster board of information. Thought that was a bit rude since it says in a bunch of places "ask us for advice!"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thanks for your positive comments about our room and other services offered at City Lodge. We pride ourselves on having an extremely high standard of cleaning and presentation. I am sorry the staff member at reception was unable to provide you with information on tours etc. This service failure has been brought to the attention of all front office team members. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: 150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lodge is a fresh central CBD budget accommodation, established in August 2005. Nestled in one of Auckland's unique oak tree cladding streets, City Lodge provides a clean, friendly and warm environment, offering a range of rooms all of which contain ensuite bathrooms, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. This convenient location is close by to the main shopping facilities and restaurants, however if you wish to stay in and cook we offer a self-catering kitchen/TV lounge area and 24 hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.