We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments
Shed 24, Prince's Wharf | 143 Quay Street, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Location Location Location - it says it all - great views across the Harbour, with superb yachts to see. Here for a week before travelling around NZ, couldn't have a better place to stay. Everything s close by, restaurents, bars. Maritime Museum, easy to catch ferries and buses to see the sights.
The self catering accommodation has everything you need -shower (no bath) washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge/freezer, microwave and oven, internet available (pity they charge extra for it). We had a one bed apartment where the bedroom was partitioned off the open plan lounge/kitchen with sliding doors. Full width double glazed patio doors lead onto balcony with table and chairs
Lucky to have a Harbour festival weekend on arrival (live music)and Louis Voutton yachts racing as well. Excellent value when compared to the hotels, none of which have views as good (except the Hilton which is located on the same wharf jutting out into the harbour.
Can''t speak highly enough.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    25
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
77
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Wow we had a fantastic stay here over Christmas.
Our three bedroom apartment on the sixth floor was superb.
A huge,well maintained and beautifully appointed apartment.
So huge we invited our extended family for a dinner to share the magnificent view.
Our apartment was on the harbour end of the wharf directly opposite the Hilton Hotel
We found the location to be exemplary so close to shopping, ferries, restaurants and public transport.
We will be staying here next time we visit.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

I'm in general agreement with other reviewers on the high quality of the apartment and the service we received when booking in.

Having read the review by ChrisSakhalin (Apr 30, 2008), I asked the following in an email to the agent: "I've read excellent reviews of the apartments with one negative comment regarding noise at night during the weekends. Being a light sleeper, this is a bit of a concern. I'm wondering whether the comment was exaggerated. Can you please advise me."

I received the following reply: "We have had a large number of guests stay with us over the last 8 years and do not very often get a comment about noise, as we are one of the few accommodation providers in the waterfront area that is not on a through road or a high count pedestrian area. There is occasional music noise from a function venue across the water from us however it is very affected by the wind direction at the time so very unpredictable." Having been persuaded that noise was not a major issue, I went ahead and booked the apartment.

On our first night (a Thursday), the noise from the numerous bars and nightclubs on the wharf was unbearable. Note that we are used to living with significant noise, as our home is on a major road in Melbourne. I could only get to sleep when the noise stopped at 3am.

The next night, as I suffered from a repeat of the previous night I wad looking forward to the noise stopping at 3am. I was in for a shock, it continued until 5:30am.

Suffering from extreme sleep deprivation, I could barely function the next day. What a holiday! I went to a pharmacy to sought out some relief. I purchased two sorts of earplugs. I found that night, plugs that consist of a heavy gel that is used to cover the outer ear allowed sufficient relief to enable sleep.

  • Liked — The view of the harbour
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awsa, Owner at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Even though this guest rated us 5 out of 5 for in four categories they have severely punished us for a noise issue while they stayed. We gave this particular apartment back to the owner way back in 2009 because of its noisy location. If you read the comments since 2009 to 2013 you will not see too many complaints re noise from any of our other apartments, but we are in the best and busiest location in Auckland and you will hear some noise from people enjoying themselves in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed here for three nights in March. Booking and arrival service were excellent and we were met by the booking agent at the property and given a great welcome to NZ and the accommodation. The room we had was on the first floor right above the resturants on the waterfront. The views were great and we we certainly in the middle of the action.

The Waterfront area really comes alive at the weekend and the noise does go on into the early hours and beyond. If you are a light sleeper bring your ear plugs, at least for the weekend nights. The non weekend nights were a bit quieter though.

  • Liked — Location - proximity to attractions
  • Disliked — Location - noise
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awsa, Owner at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for rating us 3 out of 5. Since this guest wrote this back in 2008 we have moved out of some apartments including the apartment this guest stayed in and we now operate further down the wharf. It is getting harder to find accommodation in any large city where you are in the midst of the action like we are and as private or as quiet as our apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

We stayed for a week in a two bedroomed apartment on the sixth floor, with views over the Maritime museum and the inner harbour. We were lucky enough to be there for the fireworks display celebrating a national holiday, for which we had ringside seats on our balcony.

The apartments are located on Princes Wharf, which is right in the heart of scenic Auckland harbour. From there you can walk to everything in downtown Auckland, or take a ferry to other destinations on the harbour.

The apartments are individually owned and marketed as vacation rentals through a management company. All dealings are with the management company, who we found to be efficient and responsive. For example, we had no hangers in our closets, so the resident manager brought some up to us in less than 30 minutes; the dial-up internet was not working, so they gave us free broadband access (though the first router they gave us was not working).

The apartment was well-furnished and the kitchen had everything we needed. Be aware that every apartment is individually owned and therefore individually furnished. In fact our only criticism is that the owner had not kept everything in working order. For example, we complained to the manager that the floor fan was not working - this was an issue because there is no air conditioning and it was a hot day - only to be told that maintenance of the fan was up to the owner. Similarly, a stopper in one of the bathroom washbasins was broken, and the top shelf of the dishwasher kept falling down.

However, these were minor complaints compared to the overall enjoyment of our stay. We later stayed at serviced apartments in Sydney Australia, which we found to be of much lower quality than these.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Maintenance standard
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

Everything you could want in a holiday apartment - spacious accommodation, laundry facility, fantastic views of the bridge and efficient and helpful staff...
Stayed 4 nights in a 1 bed apartment - location great for ease of access to shops, restaurants, ferry terminals. Great value compared to its neighbour the Hilton, yet convenient for evening cocktails!
Would highly recommend and hope to make a return visit when next in Auckland...

  • Liked — Great value for money and, of course, the views!
  • Disliked — some noisy neighbours!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

The Waterfront apartments was the perfect place to stay in Auckland. After staying in hotels our first 10 days of our Honeymoon we welcomed a kitchen. The location is perfect. Walking distance to so much. We took the bus once to Parnell, other than that walking everywhere. The apartments are clean, nicely decorated and easy to access.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments

Address: Shed 24, Prince's Wharf | 143 Quay Street, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self contained apartment accommodation with fabulous harbour views at Prince's Wharf, right on Auckland's waterfront - the perfect hotel alternative. Minimum 3 night stay.All apartments have fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, fridge/freezer, oven, microwave, toaster and tea/coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi Internet, telephone, television, CD player/radio, cooling fan, heater, auto washer, clothes drier, iron and balcony with outdoor furniture. Secure on site car parking available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.