We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scw on tour 3” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SKYCITY Hotel to your Saves list
SKYCITY Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Packages,Book now!
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
bury st eds
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“scw on tour 3”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice hotel with a city center location right by the skycity tower, found the the room to be large and comfortable with all the usual facilities, including direct access (from reception area) to a large casino if thats of interest, Shower curtain in need of replacement and leave out a notice if you require the room to be serviced. Once again concierge very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Steve,

It is great to read your Trip Advisor review; the team take great pride in the service and product we have and offer here at SKYCITY Hotel, I am glad we met your expectations on this stay.


Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    460
    161
    33
    28
See reviews for
157
553
74
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I spent 5 nights at the Skycity Hotel while attending business meetings and a conference at the hotel.

The room was large, the bed really comfortable, and I really appreciated the free wifi.

The room servicing was to a high standard, and the room was kept clean. I never had much interaction with staff as I was at the conference all day and then at evening social functions. The checkin and checkout staff were friendly and efficient, and the concierge staff helpful with getting taxis.

I enjoyed my stay at the SkyCity. They are upgrading the lifts at the moment with one out of service, and this was the only frustration, as a result I often ended up waiting a while for the lift

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Ross,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. I will share your feedback with the team as they really take a lot of pride in exceeding our guest’s expectations.

In relation to the lift feedback I can confirm that the lift in question has 2 weeks left before its upgrade is complete. We have tried to allocate times that would least impact our guests but on a few periods of demand the work has increased the waiting time.

Kind Regards,
Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We find this hotel very comfortable, i.e. the beds are exceptionally good, the air conditioning is efficient and easy to adjust and ensures comfort day and night. We like the great choice of bars, restaurants and cafes ,and the entertainment, the very friendly helpful staff everywhere and the easy accessible car parking. The location is perfect. We have stayed there many times and would not consider looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: higher up away from ongoing road works in outside hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Good Morning chemnitz44,

It is great to read your feedback, the team work really hard to deliver an exceptional level of customer service in New Zealand’s busiest hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Auckland.

Kind Regards,
Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great hotel for business travel in Auckland.
The hotel is located near Queen Street.
They hotel has a great bar, the 2 nights we ate at the resturant they service was let down by slowness of services, however breakfast buffet was excellent and the coffee was good

The staff are friendly and very helpful

Perfect place to stay with world class service.
The Concierge was amazing and had great knowledge of the place. The Front desk were very friendly and one of the most helpful staff i have ever come across.
They made my stay awesome.
Rooms were nice and clean

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Nirav P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. I will share your feedback with the team as they really take a lot of pride in exceeding our guest’s expectations.

In relation to the Restaurant feedback I have forwarded over to our F&B team to provide feedback on.

I hope you enjoyed your trip to New Zealand and we have the opportunity one day to have you back with us one day,

Kind Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good service and a clean & comfortable room with all the usual fit out for a decent hotel room. We booked the 'do not disturb' package and while we were generally happy with it felt the quality of the 'chocolate platter' was below average, and thought it odd that no one thought to include bathrobes as part of the the package. Otherwise, a very satisfactory stay. Valet parking was great, hotel reception friendly and helpful, and fully enjoyed our dinner at The Sugar Club up the Sky Tower. Overall, a great grown-ups night away from home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear FoodRock10,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us at SKYCITY Hotel, I am glad you enjoyed the DND package and I have noted your feedback around chocolate quality to discuss with Chef.

We are currently working on a project to bring a new range of packages to market ahead of the summer season so all feedback is beneficial in making sure the changes we make meet our guests expectations.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel when you are next looking for a night out in the city.

Regards

Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I booked the Do Not Disturb package wanting a nice night away with my partner. Arrived early and had a very pleasant reception and helpful staff storing our luggage and parking car till the room was ready. After checking in to the room, the package inclusions were not in the room so had to call through for these. The room was comfortable and liked the bathroom and amenities, however found the lack of consumables disappointing - not every one likes plain coffee & plain tea. A hot chocolate and / or herbal tea option would be nice for non coffee tea drinkers. Well stocked mini bar. However... the bed was disgusting! One side completely dipped in, visible just looking at the bed, then the middle of the bed was on a angle and the other side somewhere in between hard, angled and dipped. Thinking I could make it a little better putting a blanket under the sheets I then found the bottom sheet didn't even reach the end of the bed! Couldn't believe housekeeping would make a bed like this and that a hotel of this standard would have such terrible beds. I rang through to reception who said she'd put me through to the duty manager, after ringing through for over 5 minutes I hung and tried again. This time reception did not answer. Tried housekeeping - no answer. Tried the operator - no answer. Had to ring the hotel phone number from my mobile to talk to someone! After half an hour of trying to get in touch with someone the duty manager sent someone up to have a look. We were then offered to move rooms (now 11pm) which we gladly accepted so we could hopefully have some hope of a comfortable sleep. They upgraded us to a suite, which was appreciated, but instead of a king we had two queens. Wasn't too bothered with this until went to bed and they were hard as rocks - oh well at least flat! Pillows were odd... like half pillows - they don't even fit the pillow cases so the case had to folded under. In the suite found it very odd that where the shower is there are no towels & no where to hang towels. Overall appreciated the helpful staff (once could get through to anyone!) and the gesture to move us rooms but would not stay here again as for the price it should be a lot more comfortable. Apart from the room, the DND Package was very nice and would recommend that. Allow extra time for room service breakfast though. Ordered it between 9.15-9.30am and didn't turn up till 9.45am delaying our morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
MissParisO,

I was disappointed to read your review on Tripadvisor, we have since replaced the bed in question.

I have spoken with our team at reservations as our level of service provided on the numerous times you called was well below what we expect from our team.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls in your stay and I would be happy to discuss your feedback directly. Please feel free to email me on denny.keane@skycity.co.nz

Regards,


Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel celebrating our wedding anniversary. Parking easy and quick and pleasant Check In. We had a refurbished room on the 4th Floor with Harbour and city views. We could not fault the room. Everything was perfect. Huge super king bed and bathroom tiled floor to ceiling with a huge shower. We just had one incident outside our room on the Sat night. A group of drunk people were banging on our door and woke us up !! We phoned reception and this was soon sorted out. The location is perfect for walking around the city. We took the ferry and walked up Rangitoto Island summit for the first time. A brilliant day. Walked around the viaduct basin loaded with Cafes and bars. Looked at Britomart train station which is a huge asset for Auckland. Plenty of choices for dinner but you do have to book for the Orbit revolving restaurant if it's a Friday or Sat. We had dinner at Rebo in the hotel complex. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next night. All in all a great place to stay with fantastic service.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Good Morning Robinson72,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. I will share your feedback with the team as they really take a lot of pride in exceeding our guest’s expectations.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel when you are next looking for a night out in the city.

Regards

Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SKYCITY Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.