We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top knotch accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Save Saved
You added SKYCITY Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Exeter
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Top knotch accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was the 4th and final leg of my New Zealand tour, and I've got to say that I have been impressed at the consistently high level of accommodation, at very reasonable prices (particularly compared to the other side of the Tasman sea).

It's quite a haul from the airport to the hotel so I got the super shuttle, which is good value for money, and not a lot slower than the more expensive taxis. Even though this is a very busy hotel check in was a breeze and I was soon unpacking in my room.

The rooms were clean and tidy and of a reasonable size for a solo traveller. I had a room looking inwards (as opposed to out over the main road) so it was nice and quiet. The bed was comfortable, which all made for a good nights sleep.

The hotel is in a good location and only a short walk from the bars and restaurants, and the quay. The basement of the hotel provides access to the adjacent Sky Tower, where there are good views of Auckland from 220m up.

The only word of warning I would give is keep out of the casino because your money will soon disappear.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Exeter,

I hope you had an enjoyable time touring Australia and New Zealand and to combat the post holiday blues I hope you have another adventure in the pipeline.

Should you return to Auckland City our team will be delighted to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel.

Best wishes,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    333
    121
    29
    20
See reviews for
114
431
61
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the SkyCity Hotel for two nights before boarding a cruise ship, and were thoroughly pleased with our choice. We arrived in Auckland at 6 am, took a bus to the Central Business District and were able to walk from the bus to the hotel. Our room wasn't ready until the afternoon, but we were able to freshen up from our flight and stow our luggage while we took a previously booked tour. The bell staff were attentive and gracious, although they had several guests in similar situations with disembarking cruise ship passengers and early arriving guests like us.
The hotel is clean, quiet (I had been worried because there is a casino on site), with excellent service. Our room was large, comfortable and very sleek-looking. The only negative comment I can make is that the shower is a half-partition of glass which allows water to splash into the bathroom. But the towels, amenities, and cleaniness made up for that minor inconvenience.

Our room price included breakfast, and the breakfast buffet was very international with good selections for just about every taste; however, if I had been paying separately, I would have found the cost prohibitive. There are plenty of good coffee shops near by where you can get more reasonably priced and delicious food.

At checkout, we again left our luggage with the bellstation and did some sight-seeing before we boarded our cruise ship. Like most Americans, we tipped generously, which is not generally expected in New Zealand.

I highly recommend the SkyCity Hotel; its service and location are excellent for the price. BTW, I used frequent flyer points to pay for the rooms--quite a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Valibrn,

Thank you for your recommendation of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you taking the time to upload your photos.

The team and I hope you had an enjoyable cruise and have returned safely to Northern Virginia.

Best Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Auckland for easter this year. We were very impressed with the room and the service,nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast and Dinner at the Fortuna buffet was excellent!! Also had a lovely lunch at the Noodle deli Bar. Had a bit of luck on the poker machines but gave it all back.
Thanks Skycity for a great weekend!!

Room Tip: We had a non Harbour view room on the 4th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear 919CaroleE,

I am delighted you and your partner had an enjoyable Easter break at SKYCITY Hotel.
I hope you have returned safely to Melbourne.

Best
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Our recent stay in this hotel was very good and made even better by the friendly reception staff and doormen. It has some of the best restaurants in
Auckland and a wonderful central position in the centre of the city. There was a full house as it was the Easter holidays but the staff at all the venues
were very pleasant and efficient- a great hotel for your stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Tommo65,

Thank you for posting your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor, in particular noting the friendly and efficient staff.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel was very nice and rooms were very clean. The staff was great, always willing to help whether with restaurants, transportation, where to shop, or just weighing your luggage if you thought you were overweight for your flight back. The location of the hotel was close to shopping which was a plus. The casino was conveniently located if you wanted to gamble. All in all, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Audrey G,

Thank you for posting your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you found our service offerings to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you back.

I trust you had a pleasant rest of your trip in New Zealand and a safe return to Los Angeles.

Best,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boambee east
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

If in Auckland you cannot go pass this beautiful hotel, close to all the shops and transport. We were very impressed with our Deluxe Harbour view room. The staff are attentive and our room was serviced every day, extremely clean, thankyou to our ladies working on this floor.
We had great pleasure in dining at the revolving restaurant "ORBIT" on one of our nights there, cannot praise the three course dinner high enough, food served was out of this world, best we have had for a long time.Spend the money as you will be very happy with the results.

Room Tip: Deluxe with harbour views. Our room was 1505. you will enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear ScootycatBoambeeEast,

Many thanks for posting your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you were impressed with the room views, staff and our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

You are looking for the best place to stay in Auckland? Here it is! Many excellent restaurants to choose from, the Casino if you feel like some gambling, and to top it all: the Skycity tower!
In walking distance to all dowtown Auckland attractions, very good public transport connections available.
Besides, a very good hotel with modern rooms. Very quiet, although in the very centre of town.
Polite, kind and helpful hotel personel, very good value for money.
We had a great stay here and will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Pineapple_girl88,

Thank you for posting your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue delivering high quality service.

Best,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SKYCITY Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.