We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 days in auckland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SKYCITY Hotel to your Saves list
SKYCITY Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Broken Hill, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“6 days in auckland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

valet parking not worth the money.
, when we checked out we received excellent service from Thomas taking our bags from our room and loaded into our car.
didnt appreciate having to part PAY my bill, asked to make a part payment on a 3000 bill

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Mark C,

Thank you for posting your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. I was pleased you received excellent service from Concierge staff member Thomas.

I welcome you to contact me with your details to allow me to fully investigate the points you have raised.

I hope to hear from your shortly.

Kind regards,
Admir
admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    375
    138
    30
    23
See reviews for
131
476
67
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After reading many Trip Advisor reviews about Sky City Hotel we decided that this would be our base for a week in Auckland. The fact that the price was very reasonable helped even more with our decision. We weren't able to secure a Harbour View Room but in the end this didn't matter at all. We were on the top floor which is Level 4 looking directly across to the Sky City Grand Hotel. We were able to open our windows to get a bit of a breeze and quickly became used to the noise coming up from the street. I don't think the rooms on lower floors had opening windows. The main entrance was directly below us and as it was Chinese New Year there were a few times when we could hear quite a bit of noise even with our windows closed. The hotel is not very tall so any Harbour Views are best viewed from the Sky Tower which is right at the main entrance. Some rooms face the street whilst others face into an internal courtyard. Personally I'd prefer to face the street than the courtyard but if you're not in your room much it wouldn't matter at all. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was cleaned to perfection every day. The conceirge desk was extremely helpful with all of our enquiries and David made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed our time in Auckland and were glad we'd chosen Sky City as our base. We were given a 2 for 1 ticket for the Sky Tower which we used at sunset one day. We were also grateful for the 30 minutes of free wifi everyday which we used to keep in contact with relatives back home. We had a huge selection of restaurants in the immediate vicinity and a supermarket only a block away. We'd stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had room 471. You could open the windows for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Trangie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and photos of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor.

If you would like your guest profile updated with your room type preference please do not hesitate to contact our duty manager on guestservicesupervisors@skycity.co.nz

I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding our Concierge member David Tabor. David was recently awarded a Quest for the Best Leadership award from SKYCITY. This award recognises the best of the best.
I was thrilled to share you feedback regarding David with the rest of our team.

Best,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice hotel with a very convenient location. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable beds. The breakfast spread is large with plenty of options to choose from. We got a complimentary box of chocolates.

The hotel is walking distance from the harbour, city shopping areas and several restaurants in the vicinity. There's so much to do within the hotel complex - The Sky Tower, Restaurants, Casino, etc. that you can easily spend half a day within the hotel itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Viral09

Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor.

The team and I hope you have returned safely to Bombay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon. Lovely big room, comfortable bed. Room was surprisingly quiet for city hotel/casino. Stayed in room 333 with harbor view. We had a special of free tickets to sky tower due to 2 night stay - but had to ask staff to receive them next day as not provided at check in. However small detail and all staff we encountered were very nice. Location was great to be close to shopping on Queens Street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Kat R,

Congratulations on your recent marriage. I hope you and your partner had an enjoyable break in New Zealand.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel on your next trip to Auckland

Kind regards,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed on several occasions at Skycity with the last two visits a free upgrade to a suite! Staff all wonderful and rooms very modern and clean. The in room amentities were second to none. Only compliant is that I only booked for two nights! Next time I will stay for longer and even might try out the pool. I did make it to the casino which then paid for my trip to the day spa! Top location, easy walk right into the heart of Auckland and close to Les Mills gym and Ponsonby Rd. Many thanks to the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Win big at the Casino and upgrade your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear JezzaNZ,

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. I am pleased our dedicated team has looked after you and has provided you with exceptional customer service.

The team and I wish you a safe return trip to Brisbane and we look forward to welcome you back. We hope next time you will be able to stay longer with us.

Kind regards,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, CA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Bungy jumping right from the roof of this hotel. Traveller's information office, casino, restaurants aNd shops. Very nice rooms. Ask for one with a view. All amenities available in your room. 24 hr concierge.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Tzipster,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at SKYCITY Hotel on Trip Advisor.

If you would like your guest profile updated with your room type preference please do not hesitate to contact our duty manager on guestservicesupervisors@skycity.co.nz

Many thanks,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. You are situated far enough away from their casino so its very quiet. The reception desk was very helpful with sights to see,places to eat and they do let you store your luggage once you check out. We were going on a cruise and could not board until after 1PM. The hotel is close enough to the docks that you don't need a taxi if you are boarding a ship for a cruise. We would definitely stay here again if we evver come back to Auckland. There are very many ethnic restaurants within 3 blocks of the hotel. We eat at a Turkish and Mexican restaurant and both were very good.

Room Tip: check their website for room specials. they do have several
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Midwest68,

Thank you for posting your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I hope you and your wife had an enjoyable cruise. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel if you return to Auckland.

Best,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SKYCITY Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.