We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SKYCITY Hotel to your Saves list
SKYCITY Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Unlimited Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. You are situated far enough away from their casino so its very quiet. The reception desk was very helpful with sights to see,places to eat and they do let you store your luggage once you check out. We were going on a cruise and could not board until after 1PM. The hotel is close enough to the docks that you don't need a taxi if you are boarding a ship for a cruise. We would definitely stay here again if we evver come back to Auckland. There are very many ethnic restaurants within 3 blocks of the hotel. We eat at a Turkish and Mexican restaurant and both were very good.

Room Tip: check their website for room specials. they do have several
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Midwest68,

Thank you for posting your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I hope you and your wife had an enjoyable cruise. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel if you return to Auckland.

Best,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    372
    138
    30
    23
See reviews for
128
475
66
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend to make the most of our time in Central Auckland. I can highly recommend Skycity as a convenient place to stay. It is so central to everything, and great access for taxis, or a good deal for parking if needed. The rooms are lovely, very clean and well maintained. We had a couple of minor issues, but the staff were excellent and everything was sorted out quickly, and with no hassle's. We ordered dinner in one night and had breakfast room service, both of which were of a good standard. I can't fault this hotel for being a clean, comfortable and central place to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Leila007,

Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor. Please keep an eye on our website and our TripAdvisor page for latest updates regarding promotions and exciting new hotel features.

Best wishes,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived in late to Auckland, so the 24 hour front desk was great. Car parking was plentiful but better signposting of which lifts to use for the hotel would have been good. We had an issue with our original room smelling of cigarette smoke, but we were promptly relocated. As hotel guests we got discounted entry to skytower. The hotel is a casino so be aware if you have children that certain areas are age restricted. The buffet breakfast was quite a large buffet. Overall was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Ivan_J_R

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

SKYCITY Hotel is a smoke free property. The only space within our property where smoking is permitted is in the courtyard. While every attempt is made to adhere to this it is disappointing when other guests ignore this policy. I welcome you to contact me with your details to allow me to fully review.

I hope to hear from you shortly.

Kind regards,
Admir
admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I always enjoy staying here as the staff are friendly especially Dicky on concierge. Only a short walk to Queen St and the viaduct area. The rooms are very clean and spacious with the one of most comfortable beds I have slept in. The breakfast at "Sammy's " was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Judz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read your wonderful feedback regarding Dicky and the team.

Many thanks,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Excellent housekeeping, spacious, friendly staff. Very comfortable. Only issue was a refrigerator that was either freezing everything or letting things melt but overall not a big issue.
The bed was two put together so as long as you weren't in the middle it was very comfortable.
The smoking area is on the first floor of the hotel so my partner had to travel a bit to smoke (serves him right lol)
Wished there were bathrobes for the room but it wasn't like anyone could see in anyway.
Overall a very enjoyable experience

Room Tip: Long hallways. If you are lucky you will be closer to the lift than we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Stackit,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor.

Please do not hesitate to contact our duty manager on guestservicessupervisors@skycity.co.nz to confirm your room type preference. Your guest profile will be updated with this detail. Our team will endeavour to allocate this room type to your on future stays, however, this is subject to availability. Please note we do have guest rooms with courtyard access which is our designated smoking area.

I welcome you to contact me with your details to allow me to ensure the fridge in your guest room is in working order.

I hope to hear from you shortly.

Kind regards,
Admir
Admir.Mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lovely hotel with particularly courteous housekeeping staff. I stayed in a suite and it was perfect for working
some problems with internet access (a bit erratic) but otherwise all amenities as you would expect in a hotel like this

Room Tip: Suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Julie H,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our room attendants. I have shared your feedback with the rest of our team who were thrilled to receive your comments.

Wi-Fi is accessible throughout SKYCITY Hotel including guest rooms. I do apologise for any challenges you experienced accessing this service during your stay. I welcome you to contact me with your details to allow our IT team to fully investigate your feedback.

I hope to hear from you shortly.

Best wishes,
Admir
Admir.Mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent four nights at Sky City in February 2013. We loved the location and the room was very good, clean, and comfortable. Sky City is very contemporary and a well run hotel in our opinion other then a disconnect at the front desk.

The concierge crew were all very helpful, and David is exceptional.

The only negative we saw was at the front desk check in. There was one other couple and us who had come in on an overnight flight and were waiting for rooms.Our luggage was being held and the four of us were just sitting in the lobby area across from the front desk. That part was understandable since we arrived at the hotel around 10AM. There were no other guests in the check in area after about 11AM and the front desk employees did not appear to be doing any thing other then talking to each other. Finally about noon we asked if there were any rooms ready. The employee said yes, they had rooms. It would seem customer friendly if the front desk people who knew we were waiting, could have looked up and told us there were rooms.

Room Tip: High floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear JeannieTexas,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding David and our Concierge team. David was recently awarded a Quest for the Best Leadership award from SKYCITY. This award recognises the best of the best. I was thrilled to share you feedback regarding David and our Concierge with the rest of our team.

SKYCITY Hotel will guarantee check-in from 3pm. Where possible our team will accommodate early arrivals, however, this is subject to room availability. I am sorry to read our team did not notify you when a guest room become available at 11am. I welcome you to contact me with your details to allow me to review your experience on check-in.

I hope to hear from you shortly.

Kind regards,
Admir
admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SKYCITY Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.