We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not very practical” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manukau Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manukau Holiday Park to your Saves list
Manukau Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   902 Great South Road | Wiri Manukau City, Auckland 2104, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Chatswood, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not very practical”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

They have signs saying that they close the kitchen, as well as both the mens and ladies facilities, for cleaning from 10 am to 12 pm, which is not very practical considering it is a "holiday" park, when one is on holidays, one does not mind sleeping in. Well I waited till it was 12:05 to have my shower, then went to the mens facility and the not too very friendly lady looked at me with a face like "what to do you want?". Well I told her, " I would like to shower, I waited till it was past 12, as your impractical sign suggests. She told me to go away and to come come in 10 to 15 minutes!! How is that for service, then the showers were all entirely wet, as they had been entirely hosed down. It was very difficult to find some where not too wet, to put my dry clothes and towel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
12
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

We recently had a less than satisfactory experience with the Manukau Top 10 Holiday Park. Despite making our booking a month in advance, we arrived to find that the booking had not been taken correctly and they had therefore double booked, leaving us with nowhere to stay.

There was no apology made for this error or any notion of accountability, and the staff proceeded to look for alternative accommodation for us (without any clear communication that this was what they were doing and what our options were) almost as if on auto-pilot, which makes me wonder if this isn’t a rare occurrence for them.

Alternative accommodation at a similar price was booked for us. However upon arriving at the alternative establishment, it was clear that it was not an equivalent option for us due to the surrounding area and distance from the event that we had planned to walk to.

After researching 2 other alternative options ourselves that were equivalent in terms of location, we returned to the Manukau Top 10 Holiday Park to explain that we weren’t comfortable with their suggested alternative and asked that they call the 2 other alternatives to arrange a booking.

The staff were cooperative and managed to secure a booking at one of our alternatives (the other was also fully booked) and explained that because the error was theirs, they would pay the difference in cost to stay at the second alternative.

We were then to be contacted via phone by the Manukau Top 10 Holiday Park after checking in at the second alternative. We were advised that management would not agree to pay the difference in cost as it was not a similar cost to our original booking.

Eventually a portion of the cost difference was agreed to be paid by the Manukau Top 10 Holiday Park, however this was after some angst and a lengthy, upsetting phone conversation with the manager.

We are unable to comment on the facilities as we did not get the chance to experience them, but we will certainly not be returning. Wouldn’t recommend to anyone who is relying on their accommodation to be hassle-free or anyone who is expecting good service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

I didnt book but I stayed a Self Contained Unit & arrived just before closing time (actually it was already closed but the helpful lady opened the doors up again). We had quite a rough day & were impressed by the easy smoothness of check in.
Our room was just as expected, considering we only paid $100.00 (minus 10% with a Top 10 Card). It had a double bed in the bedroom, set of bunks in the hallway. Kitchen, Bathroom & Lounge. We did notice the stovetop & microwave looked brand new - Well done to the park on improvements. The bedding was all clean & the beds were made perfectly, our bed also had an electric blanket which was an added bonus (it was a freezing night outside !!) The kitchen was clean & the fridge didnt have any ice.
We had a nice wee deck out the front, which was lovely to sit on until the sun went down.
Looking around the grounds, there were loads of campervan places (nearly all full) & more units much like our own, some where bigger.
The main block was clean & the rubbish bins were empty. Its look like there has been some recent upgrading in the toilet block which looks great. No complaints from us.
The staff in the office were very helpful with directions & entertainment options.

Would we stay here again? Yes of course !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

We stayed at Manukau for the last 2 nights of our New Zealand holiday and would say it was the worst we had stayed in. The park is located about 30 mins drive out of Auckland and about 15 mins from the airport but thats where its good points end.

We had booked a Studio Park Motel but were very dissapointed. The cabin was large but old and very much in need of a upgrade. For example:

TV remote missing - when we reported this to the front office we were told they get stolen and so arent replaced (none of the other parks we had stayed in over the last 2 weeks had this problem)

Kitchen - the only spare power points were over the cooktop so could not be used if it was in use. In addition, the kitchen curtains were right over the cooktop, nearly touching it. Quite a fire hazard. The oven itself would not work. Unlike the rest of New Zealand, the hot water tap was on the right not the left. Very easy to burn yourself if you didnt check first.

Microwave - I have to say I have never seen a microwave that was rusty inside until now.

Bathroom - sink so small we were nearly unable to put our hands in and like the kitchen, the hot and cold water taps were reversed. No exhaust fan either.

But there was more joy outside the cabin. The laundry had an iron that had the sole plate burnt black and no ironing board was supplied, having only a dirty, burnt cloth of some kind to iron on. No doubt, like the TV remote, it had been stolen !

The park itself was neat and tidy, but like our cabin, needs some serious work to bring it up to the standard of other Top 10 parks.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantop, Manager at Manukau Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Some of the points raised in this review were fair. The microwave in this unit was in very poor condition, our cleaners had cleaned it every day but hadn't notified us that it needed replacing. The iron and table mentioned have now been replaced with a dedicated station.
The unit photographed is our oldest unit, we believe it's in fair condition and fairly priced.
However in view of the comments received we have decided to convert this unit into a games/ TV room. We appreciate all comments positive and negative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Hello !!
Stayed in this Holiday park at the end of our trip & was very impressed with location, staff were very helpful, Unit was perfect & it was nice to be able to mix with other tourists (not like a hotel or motel)
Unit was well priced & park way only a 10-15 minute taxi ride to the airport, office staff provided us with a taxi company who charged $30 flat, thought the price was great.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

We stayed at this park in a powered motorhome site near the Auckland airport for one night in early March and then came back at the end of March, when we were traveling by car, at which time we stayed in one of the ensuite units. A powered site was about NZ $20.

The park is in an urban setting and is small but well laid out. It has excellent facilities for tenters, motorhome travelers, backpackers as well as those looking for motel type accommodations. There is a facilities block with bathrooms, hot showers, a very large kitchen with several cooking and eating areas, a TV/ pay internet lounge with 2 computers. The backpacker units have compact kitchens but no bathroom facilities and linens and towels are extra. The larger units (sometimes referred to as Jayco units) were NZ $90 on a weekend night and come with linens and towels and have ensuite bathrooms (small but complete including shower), large kitchen equipped with dishes, utensils, and pots and pans, tea/coffee making facilities (including milk.)

After spending a week traveling around the North Island in a self-contained motorhome and staying at various parks like this one, we were so impressed with their facilities and cleanliness that we sought them out in Australia when traveling by car and found several which we enjoyed staying at. Prices for the fully self-contained, ensuite units tended to be the same as local motels. Aside from the facilities, we enjoyed meeting other travelers from all over the world, something which isn’t always possible in conventional hotels or motels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manukau Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manukau Holiday Park

Address: 902 Great South Road | Wiri Manukau City, Auckland 2104, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manukau Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family Holiday Park, 4 star Qualmark rated. 10 minute drive from Auckland Airport. 1.5 km south of Manukau Shopping Centre on the 470 bus route. Motels, Cabins and camping sites. Restaurants and takeaways in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Manukau Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manukau Holiday Park Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manukau Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.